what's your favorite lens for shooting video?

By far, my most used Lens for Video is the Canon EF50mm 1.4 USM, partly 'cause it's been my only lens for quite a while besides the old kit lens (which is completely unusable for video). The Focus ring travels quite a distance, it feels like almost 180˚. This is my first choice indoors with low light.

Second is the 24-105L. I don't own it, but I rented it several times for video projects. It's been a good versatile lens due to its wide range of focal lengths, and IS. For now, I'm trying out the 17-55 2.8 IS on a Crop body.

With a good tripod the 70-200 2.8 L IS is my absolute favorite lens - both video and stills. The focus ring is smooth as butter, there is enough travel to focus accurately. For planned shots, the focus ring is also wide enough to stick a tape on it and on the barrel in front of it for focus marks while still having enough of the ring for grabbing the rubber.

Upvote 0
S

scottsdaleriots

im studying photography and for one of my classes we have to create short clip about something and presnt to to the class. i wanted to use a 50 (probably the 1.4 or even 1.2L) but i got out voted 2 to 1 by the two guys in my group so now we're shooting with a 24-70.

if i was making a video that wasnt for school i'd stick to wide angle primes, if need i'd use zooms as well

Upvote 0
May 12, 2011
capertillar said:
just wondering what lens' other people like using for shooting video...

I usually run a 3 camera setup for recording live music. Main cam is a 5DII/14L II, 7D/35L or 50L on rig, 5DII/85LII or 135L on fluid head.

I probably use the 50L and 85L the most overall. 16-35 gets a decent amount of use as well, but I definitely prefer primes.

Upvote 0