Canon Reviews

Gordon Laing reviews the 8K quality from the Canon EOS R5

This site contains affiliate links to products and services. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Reviewer Gordon Laing has done a video showcasing the 8K quality from the Canon EOS R5. The video was recorded, edited, and posted to YouTube in all of its 8K glory.

The quality of the 8K video from the EOS R5 looks great to me, and if you can work around some of the perceived weaknesses, you’re going to get great results from the camera.

So get some coffee while the 8K buffers and enjoy the samples.

frjmacias

EOS R5 and EOS M50
May 14, 2020
63
61
30
Monterey, California
It is funny to note that on older computers like the one I am currently using at work, the 8K playback does not play smoothly. Obviously this is an issue with the processing and rendering power of my work computer, but it has no problem playing back 4K, so the quality of the 8K is damn impressive. Super detailed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

Bdbtoys

R5
CR Pro
Jul 16, 2020
454
320
Darn... I was hoping this was going to be an R5 w/beta firmware used with a Ninja V+ preview.
 

SilverBox

I'm not new here
CR Pro
Aug 30, 2018
53
75
Using the Ninja V+ you can get Prores 8k and work around the overheating issues
 

SonicStudios

R5
CR Pro
Mar 4, 2020
51
49
I heard the firmware update was going to be released earlier than the promised August 18th RUMORED date. Counting down the days till August 17th!!! It will probably coincide with my delivery of the RF 100 2.8 that I preorder what seems like a year ago, not to mention my Ninja V+ is gathering dust waiting for the update, thought about putting the + with my V on my DJI RS2, making side view mirrors hahahahahahahah
 

RayValdez360

Soon to be the greatest.
Jun 6, 2012
782
539
40
Philadelphia
I heard the firmware update was going to be released earlier than the promised August 18th RUMORED date. Counting down the days till August 17th!!! It will probably coincide with my delivery of the RF 100 2.8 that I preorder what seems like a year ago, not to mention my Ninja V+ is gathering dust waiting for the update, thought about putting the + with my V on my DJI RS2, making side view mirrors hahahahahahahah
where did you get your RF100 because I pre-ordered mine in july and still dont have it.
 

Otara

EOS RP
CR Pro
Jul 16, 2012
472
279
When I watch it from 30cm on my 120 inch 8k TV, the upper left corner looks ever so slightly soft compared to the lower right corner. Not impressed.
 
  • Haha
  • Like
Reactions: 7 users

Jethro

EOS R
CR Pro
Jul 14, 2018
659
590
When I watch it from 30cm on my 120 inch 8k TV, the upper left corner looks ever so slightly soft compared to the lower right corner. Not impressed.
But the important Q: does it cause your 8k TV to overheat?
 
  • Haha
Reactions: 4 users
Sep 5, 2018
1,123
1,201
Scotland
It looks good. And to note the playback on 8k was smooth as butter on my M1 Mac mini with a 1 Gbps connection (ethernet not WiFI).
 

stevelee

FT-QL
CR Pro
Jul 6, 2017
2,272
975
Davidson, NC
I have posted 1080p to YouTube that didn’t survive their mangling and compression that well.

The comparisons of blown up sections are probably the most telling parts of the video.