Canon Reviews

Review: Canon EOS R6 by DPReview

This site contains affiliate links to products and services. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

A couple of my favourite reviewers have finished their review of the Canon EOS R6. Both Chris and Jordan came away quite impressed by the new mirrorless offering from Canon.

From DPReview:

The EOS R6 promises to be the full-frame mirrorless camera from Canon that many have been waiting for. We put it through the wringer to find out. Filmed on a pre-production Canon EOS R5. See full resolution sample photos from this episode here.

Preorder the Canon EOS R6




padam

EOS R
Aug 26, 2015
1,274
940
It seems that they couldn't find any major issues, only nitpicks.
A complete opposite to their EOS R review, although the MSRP on this camera is only 200$ more than the EOS R, which started at 2300$.
 
  • Like
  • Love
Reactions: 12 users

Dj 7th

EOS R5
CR Pro
Apr 22, 2019
47
58
To be sincere, I am a little surprised that they spent so much time talking about how good the R6 is. DP review don't normally flatter Canon cameras bur this time they did. They must have been extra-ordinarily impressed.
 
  • Like
  • Love
Reactions: 6 users

ahsanford

Particular Member
Aug 16, 2012
8,617
1,643
To be sincere, I am a little surprised that they spent so much time talking about how good the R6 is. DP review don't normally flatter Canon cameras bur this time they did. They must have been extra-ordinarily impressed.


Reviewers always pull for the 'porridge is just right', 'best stuff of a top end body in a competitive price' sort of rig. Folks gushed over the D750 and A7 III this way.

I am expecting the R5 to get a much tougher working over. They could build the case that Canon has really launched two R6 bodies -- it's just that one comes with 45 MP/8K upgrade inside for a $1400 upcharge, and that the upcharge/functionality isn't truly needed.

- A
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 users

ahsanford

Particular Member
Aug 16, 2012
8,617
1,643
To be sincere, I am a little surprised that they spent so much time talking about how good the R6 is. DP review don't normally flatter Canon cameras bur this time they did. They must have been extra-ordinarily impressed.


And I'm not surprised at all. What have reviewers always said about Canon bodies since the 5D3 dropped?
  • Bang for buck is not there
  • It's not a pro camera with a single card slot
  • Dynamic range lacking
  • Canon nerfs throughout the feature set
  • Technology! Where the hell is IBIS, Eye AF, etc.
And the R6 said 'Well here you go.' :cool:

- A
 
  • Like
Reactions: 5 users

padam

EOS R
Aug 26, 2015
1,274
940
I think one clarification is missing from Canon: how well does the IBIS work with EF lenses? (or fully manual lenses, but let's not go into that, they want to sell Canon lenses primarily)

They have given stabilisation ratings for all the RF lenses (the f/11 DO RF-mount primes will not work in conjunction with IBIS due to technical reasons, so only providing 5 or 4 stops in lens stabilisation)
Will they provide the same data for their EF lenses?
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4 users

bandido

EOS M50
May 4, 2016
34
21
To be sincere, I am a little surprised that they spent so much time talking about how good the R6 is. DP review don't normally flatter Canon cameras bur this time they did. They must have been extra-ordinarily impressed.
That is because it was Chris and Jordan. I can always count on them for an unbiased review.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4 users

Keith_Reeder

I really don't mind offending trolls.
Feb 8, 2014
960
475
62
Blyth, NE England
Reviewers always pull for the 'porridge is just right', 'best stuff of a top end body in a competitive price' sort of rig. Folks gushed over the D750 and A7 III this way.
DPR doesn't. This really is a way out-of-character Canon review for DPR.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 4 users

Andy Westwood

EOS R6
CR Pro
Dec 10, 2016
181
316
UK
Chris and Jordan now at DP Review are fantastic reviewers, I love that video footage taken with the R5 and a great review from the R6 they couldn’t find much they didn’t like about that camera apposed to much they really like, looks like Canon have this one right
 
  • Like
  • Love
Reactions: 3 users

Dj 7th

EOS R5
CR Pro
Apr 22, 2019
47
58
Reviewers always pull for the 'porridge is just right', 'best stuff of a top end body in a competitive price' sort of rig. Folks gushed over the D750 and A7 III this way.

I am expecting the R5 to get a much tougher working over. They could build the case that Canon has really launched two R6 bodies -- it's just that one comes with 45 MP/8K upgrade inside for a $1400 upcharge, and that the upcharge/functionality isn't truly needed.

- A

Great points you have there, I guess that is why it was difficult deciding which one to go with. I however decided to go with the R5 despite the price increase because I want a more durable body and the higher megapixel count. I also want the 8K, so that I can create still grabs from hard to catch situations.
 
  • Like
  • Love
Reactions: 4 users

Atlasman

EOS R5
CR Pro
May 14, 2020
91
98
Reviewers always pull for the 'porridge is just right', 'best stuff of a top end body in a competitive price' sort of rig. Folks gushed over the D750 and A7 III this way.

I am expecting the R5 to get a much tougher working over. They could build the case that Canon has really launched two R6 bodies -- it's just that one comes with 45 MP/8K upgrade inside for a $1400 upcharge, and that the upcharge/functionality isn't truly needed.

- A
In my view, the R5 is the ultimate hybrid camera to this point in time—which includes the to-be-released Sony A7SIII. The R5 has compelling video formats (4K DCI 120fps 10-bit) a 45mp sensor, outstanding IBIS, great ergonomics and class leading AF. The R6 is NOT an R5!
 

Bob Howland

EOS R
CR Pro
Mar 25, 2012
822
484
Is it me or is the review video rather blurry? Granted it's using a pre-production R5 but still....
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

HikeBike

R6 / R / 50D
CR Pro
Feb 6, 2019
180
200
Maryland, USA
I think one clarification is missing from Canon: how well does the IBIS work with EF lenses? (or fully manual lenses, but let's not go into that, they want to sell Canon lenses primarily)

They have given stabilisation ratings for all the RF lenses (the f/11 DO RF-mount primes will not work in conjunction with IBIS due to technical reasons, so only providing 5 or 4 stops in lens stabilisation)
Will they provide the same data for their EF lenses?
Agreed! I'm anxious to know what to expect from my EF lenses...most of which do not have IS. I'm sure they'll publish this information at some point, but I'd like it sooner than later.
 

amorse

EOS R
Jan 26, 2017
834
1,135
www.instagram.com
Well, now I'm good and warmed up for a new R5 review. As someone who doesn't usually really notice subtle video quality differences, the video quality on that certainly seemed to stand out to me.
 
  • Like
  • Love
Reactions: 6 users

blackcoffee17

EOS RP
Sep 17, 2014
792
1,040
Interesting that the R5 is shipping in 2 weeks while the R6 much later (end of August in UK), yet they have only a pre-production copy of the R5.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users