Canon Reviews

Review: Canon RF 24-105mm F4-7.1 IS STM

This site contains affiliate links to products and services. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Bryan over at The-Digital-Picture has completed his review of the Canon RF 24-105mm f/4-7.1 IS STM, a lens that will likely become quite popular with Canon EOS R6 buyers when the grab the camera with the lens included.

This is the first f/7.1 lens we’ve seen from Canon, which may be offputting to some, but for a lot of shooters, it’ll be a worthwhile trade-off for the lightweight design and affordable price.

From The-Digital-Picture:

Lightweight, compact, plus very low priced is a formula for mediocre lens image quality at best. Especially with the cost added by the long focal length range and great image stabilization system, incredible image quality was not anticipated. Let’s take a look at what the testing shows.

With a wide-open aperture, the center of the frame image quality is reasonable and similar over the entire focal length range. Of course, f/7.1 at the long end is significantly narrower than f/4 at the wide end. Stop down to f/8 at the wide end and … little change is seen. Taking that description to the next level, little change is seen when stopping down at any focal length until the effects of diffraction begin to show.

In general, lenses are not as sharp in the periphery where light rays must be bent more strongly than in the center. This lens’ 24mm corners are somewhat soft, but not bad considering the distortion issue that I’ll discuss in more depth later in the review. The corners throughout the balance of the range have decent image quality. Stopping down decreases peripheral shading but has little other effects.

Basically, use this lens at any focal length or aperture desired with little bearing on image quality except for the 24mm corners. Read the full review

Canon RF 24-105mm f/4-7.1 IS STM at Adorama

 

[tdp_random_reviews reviewstoshow=”5″]

Jun 19, 2020
6
4
Depending on what the f4 version will do I think many people buy the f4 over this ine
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

SecureGSM

2 x 5D IV
Feb 26, 2017
2,360
1,231
not sure I quite understand the excitement:

distortion at 24mm end and f/8

"... Brace yourself. We're going to look behind the curtains, and this is going to be painful. Here are the uncorrected test results from our standard distortion test (captured at f/8)..."

24mm.jpg
 
  • Like
  • Wow
Reactions: 4 users

Maximilian

The dark side - I've been there
CR Pro
Nov 7, 2013
4,070
4,535
Germany
It is cheaper and reasonably smaller. Sure it is interesting. But more to the EOS RP buyers.
If I was going for an R6 (expected north of 2000 $/€) I wouldn't grab that combo.
For me the f/7.1 @105mm would be the dealbreaker and I would definetly prefer the f/4 lens.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 7 users

janhalasa

I'm New Here
Nov 27, 2013
16
27
I think it's a very nice lens for 200€ in a kit. Especially for cases when you want something lightweight or when there is a risk of the lens getting damaged (sand and such).
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 users

tron

EOS-1D X Mark III
CR Pro
Nov 8, 2011
5,131
1,508
It is cheaper and reasonably smaller. Sure it is interesting. But more to the EOS RP buyers.
If I was going for an R6 (expected north of 2000 $/€) I wouldn't grab that combo.
For me the f/7.1 @105mm would be the dealbreaker and I would definetly prefer the f/4 lens.
Exactly what I was thinking while reading TDP review!
 

SecureGSM

2 x 5D IV
Feb 26, 2017
2,360
1,231
I think it's a very nice lens for 200€ in a kit. Especially for cases when you want something lightweight or when there is a risk of the lens getting damaged (sand and such).
However it is a £459.99 / €549.99 Lens.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

Th0msky

EOS M50
Jun 8, 2020
37
19
For videographers among us this lens wouldn't really be interesting anyways.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

SteveC

R5
CR Pro
Sep 3, 2019
2,574
2,472
not sure I quite understand the excitement:

distortion at 24mm end and f/8

"... Brace yourself. We're going to look behind the curtains, and this is going to be painful. Here are the uncorrected test results from our standard distortion test (captured at f/8)..."

24mm.jpg

Yikes! The 24-240 all over again!

Yeah, I'll stick with the f/4 L.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3 users

miketcool

EOS 90D
Jun 29, 2017
190
384
Supposedly this lens is good for macro. I’d like to see some examples if and when anyone gets a copy.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

Gino_FOTO

Right in the middle of exposure triangle.
Aug 19, 2018
20
20
Hey Canon, wrong way!
What a crappy performance, even compared with 24-105mm IS STM which was introduced somewhen in the early stone age.
 
  • Like
  • Haha
Reactions: 2 users

magarity

EOS RP
CR Pro
Feb 14, 2017
281
193
"Focus" vs "Control" ? What committee decided that "On" vs "Off" just had to be changed?
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 user

Joules

doom
CR Pro
Jul 16, 2017
1,797
2,235
Hamburg, Germany
"Focus" vs "Control" ? What committee decided that "On" vs "Off" just had to be changed?
It isn't on or off. It is a switch to use the ring either as manual focus override or as the control ring that is a separate ring on more expensive lenses. At least that is my understanding.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 6 users

EverydayPhotographer

EOS RP, and M50. R10 on the way.
Feb 7, 2019
66
126
Minnesota
www.trexroadtrip.com
Right at the moment, with the current Canon sale going on through next Sunday, the EOS RP body is $899, one hundred dollars off, and the RP kit with this 24-105 is $400 off, at $999. Which in effect means that the lens is free, since $999 is the normal body price. From a technical standpoint, it's not the best lens by any measure. But it's a cost-effective entry into the full-frame market for a lot of folks, and that's important as well.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 14 users

twoheadedboy

EOS R5
CR Pro
Jan 3, 2018
289
423
Kenosha, WI
not sure I quite understand the excitement:

distortion at 24mm end and f/8

"... Brace yourself. We're going to look behind the curtains, and this is going to be painful. Here are the uncorrected test results from our standard distortion test (captured at f/8)..."

24mm.jpg

The whole point is that you shoot this lens corrected, all the time. I don't understand the disconnect here.

Sure, the f/4 is better uncorrected. It also costs a lot more and is way heavier. Doesn't invalidate the approach here.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 8 users

Whowe

EOS 90D
Mar 4, 2020
121
128
Right at the moment, with the current Canon sale going on through next Sunday, the EOS RP body is $899, one hundred dollars off, and the RP kit with this 24-105 is $400 off, at $999. Which in effect means that the lens is free, since $999 is the normal body price. From a technical standpoint, it's not the best lens by any measure. But it's a cost-effective entry into the full-frame market for a lot of folks, and that's important as well.
I agree. This lens is most likely not for the people that follow forums like this, but for people starting out as a hobby. With "lens corrections" in software or in camera, a lot of these problems go away.

OK, you can't fix the softness at the corners, but if that is the only problem left, for 1/3 the cost and half the size and weight, I do think this lens will fit the needs of a lot of people. It's just that you may not be the target purchasers...
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: 2 users

Ozarker

Love, joy, and peace to all of good will.
CR Pro
Jan 28, 2015
5,765
4,192
The Ozarks
For portraits, I actually prefer some pincushion. Softness in corners isn't a problem for me either. Neither is some vignette. I doubt I'd buy this lens, but we need to remember which market this is for and the low price. I often find that running lenses uncorrected appeals to me more than corrected results. It's all personal taste, I guess. If I want a completely flat plane I reach for a macro.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

magarity

EOS RP
CR Pro
Feb 14, 2017
281
193
It isn't on or off. It is a switch to use the ring either as manual focus override or as the control ring that is a separate ring on more expensive lenses. At least that is my understanding.
So a lens aimed at the casual user doesn't have manual focus but does have programmable control ring... That doesn't seem like the right option to offer.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: 1 user

AJ

EOS R
Sep 11, 2010
819
235
Yikes! The 24-240 all over again!

Yeah, I'll stick with the f/4 L.

If I were looking for light and convenient, I'd probably pick the 24-240 over the 24-105/4-7.1
Similar IQ, but the 24-240 has more range
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users

Chaitanya

EOS 5D Mark IV
Jun 27, 2013
1,641
899
36
Pune
It isn't on or off. It is a switch to use the ring either as manual focus override or as the control ring that is a separate ring on more expensive lenses. At least that is my understanding.
Users need to go through menu if they want to switch from AF to MF and vice-versa. That switch just selects whether the 2nd ring will be used a control ring or focus control. Removing AF On/Off switch is the stupidest decision on non-L RF mount lenses. Saving pennies on that switch doesnt make sense.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 users