April 16, 2014, 06:35:57 PM

Author Topic: Auto ISO  (Read 4303 times)

mw

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Auto ISO
« on: May 28, 2013, 07:22:07 PM »
Just curious if many of you use auto iso out there?

I've been mainly set it manually on the 5D3, but read through a few articles and the authors recommended auto iso.

If you use it, how do you like the result?

canon rumors FORUM

Auto ISO
« on: May 28, 2013, 07:22:07 PM »

bdunbar79

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 2425
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2013, 07:27:49 PM »
A big problem with auto ISO is that the camera is exposing "everything 18% gray mode" as I've come up with my own patented phrase.  So when I'm shooting soccer, and the Ashland U team irritates me by wearing white jerseys on their day games, exposing 0EV with CWA will make the jerseys look gray, like the camera is supposed to do.  Likewise, you'll get an overexposure with black jerseys at 0EV and CWA. 

So I cheated.  I first bought a 1Dx so I could do this.  Then I just shot in Tv mode with a custom function, auto ISO and +1 EV.  or -1EV, or whatever, using CWA.  I think I set Tv mode to 1/3200s, max aperture f/2.8, min aperture f/3.2, auto ISO, +2/3 EV on white jersey day, and used CWA.  So I actually did use auto ISO, I just also exposed to the right.

wickidwombat

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 4034
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 07:46:52 PM »
A big problem with auto ISO is that the camera is exposing "everything 18% gray mode" as I've come up with my own patented phrase.  So when I'm shooting soccer, and the Ashland U team irritates me by wearing white jerseys on their day games, exposing 0EV with CWA will make the jerseys look gray, like the camera is supposed to do.  Likewise, you'll get an overexposure with black jerseys at 0EV and CWA. 

So I cheated.  I first bought a 1Dx so I could do this.  Then I just shot in Tv mode with a custom function, auto ISO and +1 EV.  or -1EV, or whatever, using CWA.  I think I set Tv mode to 1/3200s, max aperture f/2.8, min aperture f/3.2, auto ISO, +2/3 EV on white jersey day, and used CWA.  So I actually did use auto ISO, I just also exposed to the right.

Unfortunately I think the 1Dx is the only canon camera that makes auto iso work properly none of the others do and as such i dont use it
APS-H Fanboy

Harry Muff

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
    • My Flickr:
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2013, 07:39:33 AM »
I use it all the time on my 5D2. I just set the camera to shutter priority and whatever minimum speed I need for the lens I'm using. If I need any more control, I just adjust exposure compensation to suit.
Some cameras… With Canon written on them. Oh, and some lenses… Also with Canon written on them. Oh, and a shiny camera with Fuji written on it too...

Feel free to have a wander round my flickr

J.R.

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1424
  • A Speedlight Junkie!
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2013, 08:21:12 AM »
Rarely. I shoot manual 99% of the time and Auto ISO + M is usually a fail.
Light is language!

funkboy

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 408
  • 6D & a bunch of crazy primes
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2013, 08:50:59 AM »
I'm in auto ISO and Av most of the time on my 6D.  I generally try to ETTR and check histograms regularly.  I've also got the Auto ISO "minium shutter speed" menu in my quick menu as I fiddle with it fairly often, esp. in low light.

The camera needs a way to change that from a physical control on the back (just like you can scroll through WB, etc).
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 04:11:16 AM by funkboy »

Dylan777

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 3120
    • View Profile
    • http://www.dylanphotography.phanfare.com/
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2013, 08:59:35 AM »
Auto ISO @ all times. Still, I would keep an eye on it and try to stay below ISO6400.
Body: 5D III(x2) -- A7r
Zoom: 16-35L II -- 24-70L II -- 70-200L f2.8 IS II
Prime: 40mm -- 50L -- 85L II -- 135L -- 400L f2.8 IS II -- Zeiss FE 55mm f1.8

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2013, 08:59:35 AM »

vargyropoulos

  • PowerShot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2013, 09:27:58 AM »
Shooting wildlife on my 7D, I've been using manual shutter and aperture settings with auto ISO (limited to max 1600). this works fine for cloudy days but on sunny days I find that it over exposes the image (colors are washed out, too bright for my taste). I've taken what I learned from the "camera's mentality" and lately I've been trying to shoot in Av mode and adjusting exposure compensation as I see fit

pierceography

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2013, 09:30:38 AM »
I'm with Dylan777.  I'm almost always on Auto ISO, but I have it limited to 12,800 and will try to keep it below 6400.  If I do happen to go above 6400, I'll consider rendering the photo in black and white so the grain will look more natural.

I used to almost always set the ISO myself, but that was back when I was shooting mostly architecture and landscape.  Now that I go for more "candid" shots of my family, I need to be faster.  So 95% of the time I'm in Av with Auto ISO.  I can't really complain about the results.  Any strange colors or exposure I can almost always correct in PP.  But, of course, if I want to have full control I'll go manual.  However that's usually limited to architecture/landscape or "studio" style work.
5D mark III, 7D, Sigma 12-24mm II, TS-E 24mm f/3.5L II, 24-70mm f/2.8L II, Sigma 35mm f/1.4, Sigma 50mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II, 85mm f/1.2L II, 100mm f/2.8L, 135mm f/2L, 2x TC III

awinphoto

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1942
    • View Profile
    • AW Photography
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2013, 10:10:10 AM »
For everyday shooting (kids, pets, life, etc) I have the ISO on auto...  It's important to understand auto ISO but more important to know the rules of auto ISO and Exposure compensation, as the camera will innately try to make everything 18% gray.  Not all scenes are 18% gray, so adding some compensation or taking it away as needed when applicable and knowing when you need it is just as important.  When I'm shooting clients in studio I always set my ISO at 100 and I let my strobes control the exposure.  Likewise if im in the same area for any length of time, if the situation isn't changing, your exposure shouldn't be changing (for similar shots), so at that time I set everything manual and set things to taste.   
Canon 5d III, Canon 24-105L, Canon 17-40L, Canon 70-200 F4L, Canon 100L 2.8, 430EX 2's and a lot of bumps along the road to get to where I am.

M.ST

  • Guest
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2013, 10:11:03 AM »
I don´t use Auto-ISO and I don´t like the results.

Funny that the camera (with Auto-ISO on) dial ISO 5.000 in, if I use the 70-200 2.8 II IS lens in Av mode with an aperture of 2.8 at 200 mm in an bright indoor scene.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2013, 10:13:31 AM by M.ST »

chauncey

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2013, 10:41:46 AM »
I just discussed auto ISO with customer service as I'm considering a new 5D3 to replace my current Ds3 for better ISO performance...
I generally use manual mode in LV, with all-color histogram, to adjust exposure as I'm an avid ETTR enthusiast.

Anyway...they told me that the Auto ISO function is dependent upon the specific metering mode that you have selected, true/false?

dexstrose

  • Canon AE-1
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2013, 11:11:06 AM »
I'm usually in manual. I wasn't sure if I can trust the camera to expose right. 

Over the weekend I tried auto iOS All day and was surprised it worked well on my 6d. Even with sun backlit images it didn't underexposed.

I'm going to keep this on my C1 mode with AV for times I just want to shoot fast and not think about settings.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2013, 11:37:55 AM by dexstrose »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #12 on: May 29, 2013, 11:11:06 AM »

bchernicoff

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
    • View Profile
    • My Photos
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #13 on: May 29, 2013, 11:33:31 AM »
90% of the time I shoot my Mk III in Aperture Priority and Auto ISO (max 6400). I review the histograms and rarely have to make adjustments. Like someone else said, white shirts really throw off the AE though.
6D, Fuji X-E1
Tamron 24-70 2.8 VC, Canon 50mm f/1.2L, 70-200 f/2.8L IS II, 400mm f/2.8L II, 100mm L IS Macro, Sigma 85mm, & 35mm f/1.4's, Rokinon 14mm f/2.8, Canon 2x Extender II, Kenko 1.4x, 430 EX II, Elinchroms

Skirball

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
    • View Profile
Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2013, 11:43:39 AM »
A big problem with auto ISO is that the camera is exposing "everything 18% gray mode" as I've come up with my own patented phrase.

+1    If there was an exposure control for the auto ISO it'd be a very handy tool with M.  But as I don't have a 1DX to do this workaround, I never really use it.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Auto ISO
« Reply #14 on: May 29, 2013, 11:43:39 AM »