December 20, 2014, 06:40:53 AM

Author Topic: Intervalometer Question  (Read 2029 times)

granite4brains

  • SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Intervalometer Question
« on: October 27, 2013, 02:26:49 PM »
Will an intervalometer allow longer shutter speeds on cameras like the G15 that typically only allow a max of 15 secs (and don't have a bulb setting)?

canon rumors FORUM

Intervalometer Question
« on: October 27, 2013, 02:26:49 PM »

Schruminator

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
  • I'm just kidding, seriously.
    • View Profile
    • M Schrum Photography
Re: Intervalometer Question
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 03:21:25 PM »
I don't have the G15, but if it has a Bulb mode and a spot to plug in an intervalmeter, then I'd be nearly certain you can use it to go longer than 15 seconds. I know on my old Rebel xTi, the maximum was 30 seconds, but when I switched to Bulb mode and plugged in an intervalmeter there was no limit-- only how long my batteries would last :) . One way to check would be to switch to bulb mode and hold down the shutter button for 20 or 30 seconds. If that works just fine, then an intervalmeter will definitely work.

Also, it may be worth checking out CHDK (http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK) depending what features you're looking for. It's roughly comparable to a lot of the features that Magic Lantern puts in the DSLR's, only CHDK is for Point and Shoots.
5D III | 14 2.8 L | 24 1.4 II L | 35 1.4 L | 50 1.2 L | 85 1.2 II L | 24-70 2.8 II L | 70-200 2.8 IS II L | 40 2.8 | 1.4x Mk. II T.C. | M Schrum Photography

granite4brains

  • SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Intervalometer Question
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2013, 05:53:19 PM »
I don't have the G15, but if it has a Bulb mode and a spot to plug in an intervalmeter, then I'd be nearly certain you can use it to go longer than 15 seconds. I know on my old Rebel xTi, the maximum was 30 seconds, but when I switched to Bulb mode and plugged in an intervalmeter there was no limit-- only how long my batteries would last :) . One way to check would be to switch to bulb mode and hold down the shutter button for 20 or 30 seconds. If that works just fine, then an intervalmeter will definitely work.

Also, it may be worth checking out CHDK (http://chdk.wikia.com/wiki/CHDK) depending what features you're looking for. It's roughly comparable to a lot of the features that Magic Lantern puts in the DSLR's, only CHDK is for Point and Shoots.

Thanks Schruminator.  Unfortunately, I don't have a bulb setting on the G15.  Reading the page for the intervalometer, it sure makes it sound like it will override the camera shutter speed, so I am still holding out hope!

The CHDK sounds interesting, thanks.  Might be some other fun stuff to do there, as well.


granite4brains

  • SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Intervalometer Question
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2013, 06:41:51 PM »
Hey, the CHDK did the trick!   Thanks!!   :)

It does indeed let you override the shutter speed and therefore exceed the 15 second max

Schruminator

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 91
  • I'm just kidding, seriously.
    • View Profile
    • M Schrum Photography
Re: Intervalometer Question
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2013, 01:25:22 PM »
Cool, I hope it works out well for you!
5D III | 14 2.8 L | 24 1.4 II L | 35 1.4 L | 50 1.2 L | 85 1.2 II L | 24-70 2.8 II L | 70-200 2.8 IS II L | 40 2.8 | 1.4x Mk. II T.C. | M Schrum Photography

granite4brains

  • SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Intervalometer Question
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2013, 03:43:32 PM »
Got the Intervalometer and confirmed that it doesn't seem to override the 15 sec max exposure.  Looks like you do need a bulb setting for this, like Schruminator said.  Unfortunately, the G15 doesn't have one.

So, CHDK is definitely needed for the workaround here.  That will allow for the longer exposures and works with the Intervalometer.


canon rumors FORUM

Re: Intervalometer Question
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2013, 03:43:32 PM »