October 01, 2014, 07:02:26 PM

Author Topic: 5D Mk3 Grainy footage. Any ideas?  (Read 3971 times)

jarwood

• SX50 HS
    • View Profile
5D Mk3 Grainy footage. Any ideas?
« on: February 01, 2014, 10:11:03 PM »
Hello everyone,

I have been shooting with the Mk3 for a few months now, but have recently started seeing some grain in my images. I'm not really sure if it is something on my end causing this, or if it is within the camera. The attached image is a screen grab from a clip I shot wide open at f4 (24-105mm L) with an ISO of 800. The footage gets incredibly grainy when I sharpen in post and I'm not sure why. Could it be that the sky is out of focus? Should I have shot it at a much smaller fstop to avoid this? Any help would be very much appreciated. I'm still pretty new to videography, but I feel I should be getting much cleaner images than I have been. Thanks!

canon rumors FORUM

5D Mk3 Grainy footage. Any ideas?
« on: February 01, 2014, 10:11:03 PM »

flowers

Re: 5D Mk3 Grainy footage. Any ideas?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2014, 10:30:11 PM »
Hello everyone,

I have been shooting with the Mk3 for a few months now, but have recently started seeing some grain in my images. I'm not really sure if it is something on my end causing this, or if it is within the camera. The attached image is a screen grab from a clip I shot wide open at f4 (24-105mm L) with an ISO of 800. The footage gets incredibly grainy when I sharpen in post and I'm not sure why. Could it be that the sky is out of focus? Should I have shot it at a much smaller fstop to avoid this? Any help would be very much appreciated. I'm still pretty new to videography, but I feel I should be getting much cleaner images than I have been. Thanks!

The histogram of the image above:

As you can see, all the information contained in the two darkest segments (5 darkest stops)
This means that you wasted 87.5% of the information.