September 19, 2014, 06:10:35 PM

Author Topic: Cheap decent softbox for a traveller  (Read 4213 times)

Cristiano

• SX50 HS
    • View Profile
Cheap decent softbox for a traveller
« on: April 08, 2014, 06:19:11 AM »
Hi,

As you can understand from the topic I am a traveller and I try to go around with less amount of stuff as possible, maybe 3 bags for clothes, camera and so on.

I have to go cheap because unfortunately I don't have a lot of money but I'm sure you can advice me a nice foldable softbox to bring with me.

I forgot to mention that I'm a portrait photographer and I mostly photograph models that are just staring out or trying to built up their portfolio.

Thank you!
Canon 6D

canon rumors FORUM

Cheap decent softbox for a traveller
« on: April 08, 2014, 06:19:11 AM »

neuroanatomist

• CR GEEK
    • View Profile
Re: Cheap decent softbox for a traveller
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2014, 08:02:48 AM »
Can you clarify if you're looking for a small on-camera softbox or a larger, off-camera softbox?  The former is most useful for tight headshots, they need to be really close to deliver soft light.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses

Cristiano

• SX50 HS
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2014, 08:34:06 AM »
Can you clarify if you're looking for a small on-camera softbox or a larger, off-camera softbox?  The former is most useful for tight headshots, they need to be really close to deliver soft light.

Hi neuroanatomist, preferably a larger off-camera softbox that I can fold into my backpack.
Canon 6D

Arctic Photo

• EOS M2
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2014, 09:06:41 AM »
I have Lastolite in a couple of sizes, both on and off camera. Not sure if they are too expensive, but I am happy with them. Easy to mount and seems durable also.

neuroanatomist

• CR GEEK
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2014, 10:53:47 AM »