September 20, 2014, 02:29:08 AM

Author Topic: Focusing Screen  (Read 7476 times)

Quasimodo

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 869
  • Easily intrigued :)
    • View Profile
    • 500px.com
Focusing Screen
« on: February 13, 2012, 02:42:27 PM »
After a restless night today was much better. I accidently got the focusscreen out of my Canon 5D mark II, and I was under the impression that I had destroyed my camera. I went to the photostore as they opened this morning, and they replaced it for me after I bought a new one and now my camera works perfect again. They did not have the standard that is delivered with the camera, but I got a type called EG - D, which has a grid design, and I love it (being into architecture and other motives where its helpful with the lines and cross).

As I was getting the focus screen on the shelf in the store, I saw that they had a type for manual shooting with split screen. This appealed to me, since I also have a 17mm TS lens, and I am seriously thinking about getting the MP-E65.

Finally a question arises: Would a split screen focus screen be ideal? Would it not be the best of two worlds, or would the split screen focus screen interfere somehow/distort regular AF shots?

1Dx, 5DII w/grip, 3x600 EX RT, ST-E3
Canon: 8-15L, 16-35L II,  24-105L , 70-200L IS II, 17L TS, 135L, 100L, 2x III TC, 40 F2.8 STM, 50 F1.4. Sigma 35 F1.4 Art, Sigma 85 F1.4, Sigma 150-500.
www.500px.com/gerhard1972

canon rumors FORUM

Focusing Screen
« on: February 13, 2012, 02:42:27 PM »

gbchriste

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 02:58:22 PM »
I swapped out the factory screen in my 40D with the comparable gridded screen for that camera so I know exactly what you are talking about.  It wasn't a difficult operation at all.  I wasn't aware there was a split screen type available for any Canon camera.  I'm mighty tempted to give that a try in my 5DMkII if such a thing exists.  Thirty years ago I was manually focusing a Canon AE-1 and A-1 (still have the A-1) with the a split focus screen and never missed focus.  I made fairly large prints from 35mm negatives and they were always sharp.  As a portrait shooter, having a lightening fast AF is nice but not crucial.  I'd gladly swap speed for accuracy.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14426
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 03:14:13 PM »
The split screen would work fine.  There is a simple split-screen available for the 5DII from focusingscreen.com; if you want the familiar (to film SLR shooters, that is), split prism with a microprism collar around it, for the 5DII you need to go to brightscreen.com (they take much longer and charge much more).

These screens work with AF, although you need to set the custom function to Eg-S to get proper metering.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Quasimodo

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 869
  • Easily intrigued :)
    • View Profile
    • 500px.com
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 03:21:51 PM »
Thank you both for your input:)

Do I need to go into functions now that I got the Grid instead of the regular? or is it the same, just with lines on it?
1Dx, 5DII w/grip, 3x600 EX RT, ST-E3
Canon: 8-15L, 16-35L II,  24-105L , 70-200L IS II, 17L TS, 135L, 100L, 2x III TC, 40 F2.8 STM, 50 F1.4. Sigma 35 F1.4 Art, Sigma 85 F1.4, Sigma 150-500.
www.500px.com/gerhard1972

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14426
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2012, 03:27:04 PM »
Do I need to go into functions now that I got the Grid instead of the regular? or is it the same, just with lines on it?

Yes, you should set C. Fn IV-5 to Eg-D.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Quasimodo

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 869
  • Easily intrigued :)
    • View Profile
    • 500px.com
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2012, 03:39:06 PM »
thanks again. I just looked. Maybe the guy at the service did it for me (without me seeing it) because it is in the correct place now:)
1Dx, 5DII w/grip, 3x600 EX RT, ST-E3
Canon: 8-15L, 16-35L II,  24-105L , 70-200L IS II, 17L TS, 135L, 100L, 2x III TC, 40 F2.8 STM, 50 F1.4. Sigma 35 F1.4 Art, Sigma 85 F1.4, Sigma 150-500.
www.500px.com/gerhard1972

te4o

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2012, 04:31:40 PM »
What is the magnitude of the chance that the next 5D will have an interchangeable focusing screens too?
The 1Dx has it, the 60D not, I presume the 70D won't have it ...
The 5D3 might have and the 5DX will have it ...? Did I answer my own question?
I rely heavily on these. Do brightscreen put a prism into a screen non-interchangeable camera?
5D3 (04/12), Carl Zeiss ZE 21, 35/1.4, 50MP, 100MP
Canon 135/2, Sigma 85/1.4
SONY RX100

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2012, 04:31:40 PM »

lynx0069

  • Guest
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2012, 04:37:58 PM »
i've god a 20D converted to IR that i picked up used and it has a split prism focus screen, and i love it.......i use back button focus with a 50mmf/1.8 mkI. the auto fucus still works great because lifepixel calibrates their conversions to the 50mm lens, and i use back button focus to make it easier to manually adjust fucus when i have to, and the split prism is outstanding for that. i dont notice if the viewfinder is darker or not with the split prism, because it was already installed when i got the camera. i do believe the split prism is made by katseye and i like it so much, i'll prob buy one when i upgrade from my XSi later this year.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14426
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2012, 04:46:21 PM »
Any focusing screen can be changed.  The question you're really asking is, will the next 5-series body have a focusing screen that can be changed by the user.  I'm pretty sure the answer will be yes.  But if not, even a complex set up like the 7D, with a transmissive LCD right next to the focusing screen, can have the screen changed, and third-party vendors make focusing screens for 7D, just as they do for bodies in the xxD and xxxD lines.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4506
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2012, 06:21:43 PM »
what brand is the split screen? becasue canon dont do one they just have the EG-S which is the precision matte screen i have it in my 5D2 basically it looks exactly like the default one but is easier to see if things are in focus manually however the down side is that the veiwfinder is quite dark with f4 or slower lenses.

although the Fd 600 f4.5 lens i have does not appear as dark as the 24-105 does which is wierd but all the fast lenses are great with the EG-S screen
APS-H Fanboy

april

  • Guest
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2012, 06:57:07 PM »
talking about focusing screens, I'd like to change the focusing screen of my 50D as as well . Does anyone know which one will be good? I had been having problems with focusing when i do it manually it's sharp on the view finder but as i took the picture, the photo taken is not in focus. On low light situations where I cant trust the AF or it just dont work, manual focusing is a pain since all shots taken were off but on the viewfinder it's crisp clear.

thanks guys......

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4506
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2012, 07:01:05 PM »
talking about focusing screens, I'd like to change the focusing screen of my 50D as as well . Does anyone know which one will be good? I had been having problems with focusing when i do it manually it's sharp on the view finder but as i took the picture, the photo taken is not in focus. On low light situations where I cant trust the AF or it just dont work, manual focusing is a pain since all shots taken were off but on the viewfinder it's crisp clear.

thanks guys......
people have said good things about these
http://www.katzeyeoptics.com/
but they dont do them for 5D mk2 :(
APS-H Fanboy

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14426
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2012, 07:10:51 PM »
For the 5DII, try focusingscreen.com - $80 and less than a week, at least here in the US.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #12 on: February 13, 2012, 07:10:51 PM »

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4506
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #13 on: February 13, 2012, 07:18:36 PM »
For the 5DII, try focusingscreen.com - $80 and less than a week, at least here in the US.

cool thanks do you use these?
which would you recomend?
I like the look of the EG-B grid version
APS-H Fanboy

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14426
    • View Profile
Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2012, 07:28:07 PM »
I'd probably get just the basic prism, no grid lines.  But personally, I'd probably spend a little more and wait a little longer, and order from brightscreen.com.  They have a version like the old film focusing screen - split prism with microprism collar.  Focusingscreen.com has them too, for other cameras such as the 7D and Nikon bodies, but not for the 5DII.

As it is, I use neither, just the Eg-S from Canon.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Focusing Screen
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2012, 07:28:07 PM »