July 20, 2018, 10:50:53 AM

Author Topic: Current prices (UK Market)  (Read 4347 times)

libra23

Current prices (UK Market)
« on: May 21, 2011, 05:00:45 AM »
hi, i'm posting this as i'm relatively new to the lens market, in terms of understanding the price flutuation. I've had a good year to monitor the lenses i'm interested in (specifically 17mm tse and 100-400mm), within the next 4 months i'm at a point where i'm ready to commit to purchasing said lens(es).

Just to put a little in perspective, i'm based in Germany with my job so have the advantage of purchasing my goods VAT free (i use amazon and warehouseexpress - i don't know of any other sites offering BFPO VAT-free delivery), and what i've seen in relation to the above lenses is that (taking amazon as a gauge) the 17mm tse i believe i've seen as low as around £1749, which equates to VAT-free price of £1399 (currently retailing from amazon at over £2000) :-O

the 100-400mm i've seen as low as £1049 (again VAT-free £839) within the last year (currently retailing at £1200-£1299 mark), so as you can imagine, (not in any way wanting to put this across in a pompous manner)i can make some considerable savings, unfortunately and sadly the force majeure which occurred seems to have pushed the prices up (no way i'll be paying £2000+ for the tilt shift)

So the question i'm getting at is, can anybody provide any knowledge/experience of when they hypothesis the prices may come back down (and what range this may come back down to). Further to this, i have researched around this topic a little and have read that Canon has been making profits regardless and it's the suppliers that have hicked up the prices, rather than Canon.