17 Year old Sports Photographer

charlesbanke

17 year old doing what he loves
Hi all,
I am a 17 year old photographer currently working freelance and volunteering for my school's yearbook.

I have been a long time follower of Canon Rumors (probably about 2 years now), but have never been one to post, so this is my first post!

I was just looking for some possible critiquing of my work and want to know if I am on a good path to shoot college sports!

Here are a few photos and more can be found on my website: http://www.charlesbankephotography.com/

Thank you!

Attachments

• _K7B9673.jpg
    _K7B9673.jpg
    738 KB · Views: 760
  • IMG_2329.jpg
    IMG_2329.jpg
    991.9 KB · Views: 852
  • IMG_0524.jpg
    IMG_0524.jpg
    812.3 KB · Views: 770
  • _K7B0527.jpg
    _K7B0527.jpg
    883.9 KB · Views: 826

scottkinfw

Wildlife photography is my passion
CR Pro
I am not a sports photog. That said, your pics are excellent and you show understanding of all bases. Of course always room for improvement and continued mastery. Great to see a a serious minded and directed young person.

Keep up the good work.

Sek

Upvote 0
The images are great. Night sports are very difficult. I like to add a little flash for fill light. I usually just dial -2 into the flash compensation. You might not be allowed to do this in college venues, but high schools don't mind.

The only piece of advise I can give you is photography as a business (sports or otherwise) is 90% business and 10% photography. There are lots of books on the topic, but the reality is technology has made photography easier and easier.

Do what you can to be creative, and look for new opportunities to be published and sell your photos.

Strive for sharp photos that stop the action, then take some that allow some blur...

IMG_8830 by RexPhoto91, on Flickr

Upvote 0
I also agree with most of the above.