60D Sports Photography Help

M

mattg60d

Hey guys, I recently purchased the canon 60d and love it, but I went to snap some pics of a HS lacrosse game and most of my images came out blurry and out of focus. I had the camera in sports mode and on auto focus. I know the 60D isnt as fast as the 70D but I should still be able to get some great pics right ?

Any tips on how to get good shots for fast paced sports ?

Some information that would be helpful:

Focal length (and lens model)?
Shutter speed?
AF setting (One Shot, AI Servo, AI Focus)?
AF point (one point, zone, auto)?

The 60D is (from what I have read) a very capable camera both in terms of image quality, and AF accuracy and speed. The lens is definitely important too, in terms of focusing speed and accuracy. With more information we should be able to help you achieve better action shots.

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
mattg60d said:
Im new to photography but ill do my best to answer your questions lol

as far as the lens is, i am using the one my camera came with which is the EF-S 18-135mm
the shutter speed i believe is 1/125 (not too sure)
shot in the action mode on AI servo

The 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens has an AFD (micromotor) focusing mechanism, meaning it's comparitively slow (vs. ring USM = ultrasonic motor, which is found in better lenses). So, its possible that your lens' AF can't keep up with the action.

A shutter speed of 1/125 is not going to be fast enough to stop fast-pased action like lacrosse. Unfortunately, with a Basic Mode setting like Sports Mode, you cannot choose a shutter speed. I'd recommend getting away from the Basic Modes. Start off using Tv and Av, and set your ISO to Auto - with Tv selected, you can push up your shutter speed.

Typical settings for sports would be 1/500 - 1/1000 s shutter speed, and in Tv mode with Auto ISO, the camera will set the rest of the exposure. Continuous shooting, AI Servo mode.

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
mattg60d said:
Here is an example:

5684599076_dfcacb72b7.jpg