best camer for beginner

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dramamom2008

First time on the Forum and I am enjoying it. Question: I am 50yr young women who always loved to take pictures and have been told I have a great eye for photography. Now with the kids grown its time for me to go further into photography. I know very little about photography but start classes on Monday night. What I need to know is the best camera for a beginner who wants the camera to grow with her. I have my eye on 60d and need to stay in that price range. I want to do everyday photography but get into sports and weddings down the road. Like I said I am a beginner so please reply in the best laymens terms you can, and yes I have lost a few brain cells through the years. Thanks so much for your time and patience.

Jul 21, 2010
The 60D is a good choice, but...consider that your total budget should also include a lens or two. The kit lens (likely an EF-S 18-135mm) is ok, but as your skills grow you'll probably want better image quality. Lenses are an investment - if you stick with photography, you'll keep good lenses through several camera bodies.

Still, the kit lens is inexpensive when bought in the kit. I would recommend also getting the EF 50mm f/1.8 II ($107 from Amazon) to experiment with depth of field and low light shooting.

Unless it's a requirement that you show up to your first class with a camera, why not wait and ask the instructor for some recommendations?