Help needed with Sigma 14mm F1.8

Was very excited to get the Sigma 14mm F1.8 Art for Astro landscapes. I am positive that I will get this aspect going and with the right post processing might even get proficient at it. BUT. daytime landscapes etc. I found this lens very difficult to use. I went to the Richtersveld national park here in South Africa and tried my hand at it. Unfortunately the light was very harsh this time of year but I tried anyway. Please comment and critique to your hearts content as I am an absolute amateur and need to learn how to use this lens. All help will be appreciated.

Flare is a huge problem for me. The lens is so wide and bulbous that if you try and shield it the shield almost always ends up in the shot.

Attachments

• Sig14-1.jpg
    Sig14-1.jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 155
  • Sig14-3.jpg
    Sig14-3.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 153
  • Sig14-13.jpg
    Sig14-13.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 151
  • Sig14-15.jpg
    Sig14-15.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 147

YuengLinger

Print the ones you love.
CR Pro
Dec 20, 2012
USA
I think these are very good; you seem to be getting the hang of it quickly! The only one that I'd look harder at is Sg14-3, the portrait oriented shot of the rock structure. I find the out of focus area at the bottom to be a bit unpleasant, distracting from an otherwise nice shot. I might crop that part out.

Could you please comment on the AF in situations a little more challenging than landscapes? Say some quick still-lifes or more photojournalistic with people involved? Is it consistent? Accurate? Thanks!

Upvote 0
I really do not think these are good at all. What I had in mind is in no way reflected in these photos. Thank you for being kind but I really need some more critique to understand what I can improve on. In Sig14-3 there is a lot of flare/glare that I am trying to show. And yes, the out of focus area is really distracting.