Reverse Engineer this please

Hi guys, Im having trouble taking my portraits to a level im happy about. Could someone explain to me how these were done, the first link being my faveourite. Has he used flash? If so would he have used an ND filter for shallow DOF?

http://www.redbubble.com/people/mufcaholic/works/9006838-ksenia-3?c=57577-people
http://www.redbubble.com/people/mufcaholic/works/9003301-ksenia-1?c=57577-people
http://www.redbubble.com/people/mufcaholic/works/9029090-ksenia-8?c=57577-people

Also if you look through his 'Strangers' Collection here im impressed with most of the light. Quite soft. I cant avoid worse shadows and hot spots when i try. Maybe im not post processing enough?

http://www.redbubble.com/people/mufcaholic/works/9029090-ksenia-8?c=57577-people

Some thoughts on this would be excellent.

I'm not a portrait expert, but it looks like there has been some modification of light, either flash or a reflector. It also looks like he has overdone it a little on the last one, as part of her face looks blown. The first two could be lit by the sun, but, I would expect the background to also be lit by the sun too if that was the case, which is why I think it has to be flash or a reflector. While there could be some dodging and burning, there are always limits, not that any imperfections would be seen at the Redbubble display resolution and possibly would be hidden in most prints. I would still expect some shadows though. Knowing alot of the styles on RB, there is likely to be use of flash and probably quite a bit of PP/manipulation.

Upvote 0
K

kurnitb

Hi there mate,
I think he uses a softbox camera right as you could see a square reflection in her eye while underexposing the background a little bit. Regarding the ND, I would suspect so as it is pretty shallow DoF.

Regarding the quality of light, the larger your light source the better it is (gradation from light to shadow) and that's why people use huge softboxes, umbrellas etc.