Review - Tamron 45mm f/1.8 Di VC USD

GammyKnee said:
Well I've just got the 45 from Wex here in the UK. I'll give it a little go this evening and over the next few days with my 5D II and III bodies and report back here in due course. Fingers crossed it's a good copy...

Definitely report back. I find everyone's feedback interesting. I've only used one copy (though I've purchased my own -second copy) but am waiting for my wife to give it to me for Christmas :)

Few of us have the opportunity that Roger does to review multiple copies of everything. I'm actually surprised at the reports of AF issues for two reasons: 1) I didn't notice any of those issues in either the 35mm or 45mm when I reviewed them and 2) I've been using a number of Tamrons professionally for several years and have had very, very good focus accuracy with them (24-70 VC, 70-200 VC, and 15-30 VC more recently.)

Upvote 0
TWI by Dustin Abbott said:
Definitely report back. I find everyone's feedback interesting. I've only used one copy (though I've purchased my own -second copy) but am waiting for my wife to give it to me for Christmas :)

Hehe.. it's going to feel like a long time until Christmas then!

I've had the lens on both bodies for a bit tonight, just to get first impressions of the AF, VC - nothing more than that until tomorrow when I'll have West of Scotland "not-night-light" (it doesn't really qualify as daylight).

My first shots with the center point of the 5DII showed that AFMA was needed. I dialled in a guestimated adjustment (nothing extreme) on the spot, and after that focus seemed to be in the ball park and pretty consistent given the energy saving lighting in most of our house. I didn't try the outer points on this body (I rarely trust them anyway). The lens was quite slow to focus, yet surprisingly decisive (very little hunting).