shopping around

C

campton

Didn't know where to post this

Im currently a student studying film and we shoot on the 7D and 5D mostly on the 7.
Im shopping to buy my first camera and I keep seeing that a 5D replacement is on its way
my question is should I just buy a 7D which I enjoy or keep saving and get a MkIII whenever
it happens to come out.

also if anyone has any suggestion on a basic couple lenses I should get that would help
I know I want a 50mm 1.4

Mt Spokane Photography

Canon Rumors Premium
Mar 25, 2011
The 5D MK III is only rumored, and, no one will know about it right up until a week or two before its announced. Actually, there may be some accurate leaks, but there are so many who make up their own leaks or wish list that its impossible to determine if there is anything accurate out there.

We all believe it will likely be announced in a year or less. I would suggest that you trade in a old broken film SLR using the Canon Loyalty Program for a Refurbished 7D. I did, and mine was basically new, but cost a lot less.

When time comes to upgrade, you will be able to sell it at minimal loss. Just make sure that video accessories you buy are going to be ones that can be used on a future camera, high quality mic's, lighting, tripod and head, lenses, ND filters, external monitors, audio recorders, etc. Thats where the real money is spent if you are into serious video.

Upvote 0
I

intown

Thanks for this post. I am in a similar position, would love for the 5Diii to be out but have a feeling it will be 8-10 months until it is available for purchase. I will be using the camera for filming interviews and product reviews both in a studio setting as well as family (I have a 3month and a 3 year old) and hobby photos.

I am pretty set on going with a 60D body. Just trying to figure out the right lens.