Upgrading my setup

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

erakepio

Hi all,

been observing these forums for a while now and most of the folk on here are extremely objective and sensible so figured I'd rear my somewhat young balding head into the picture and join in the discussions.

I'm looking at upgrading my setup at the moment. I'm still somewhat new to photography (18 months) but I'm progressing quickly and having so much fun, almost like a new lease of life! So here's what I have...

Cameras

Canon 1100D - Modded/ Full light spectrum. Used for IR, UV, astro-imaging.
Canon 550D - Un-modded. this is my main camera currently.

Lenses

Canon 18-55 kit lens (bog standard lens I got with my 550D)
Canon 70-200 L USM F/4
Canon 50mm F/1.8 (mostly used for IR)
Canon 50mm F/1.4
Sigma 10-20mm f3.5 EX DC HSM

Now, was thinking of getting a 5DmkII, however in light of a potential mkIII appearing this year I'm a bit sceptical of laying out £1500 for a new mkII and then wanting a mkIII when they appear, as I'm planning on dropping my name on one straight away. I know a 5DmkII or III would make the Sigma Wide angle lens useless as it'll be full frame.

So what do I shoot? Well It's a mixture of things really. I do lots of night time stuff currently. A lot of light trails, star trails, light paintings, mood scenes, night time-HDR etc. The night-time stuff I do a lot of, as my day job currently takes up a lot of the light during the winter months!

During the day I've done a bit of wildlife, however I'm not to keen on this. I do my IR and UV images which I find quite fun to do. I do my HDR images and landscapes. I'd like to start learning some wedding skills, and try to make some money on the side.

I have photoshop CS5, lightroom and photomatix licenses on my mac, so editing and developing isn't a problem. Have thoroughly enjoyed learning these skills also and plan to become much more fluent with these programs