LDS said:
mdmphoto said:
I wouldn't have titled this post "Wow".

While I can understand why the US Army released it, my feelings for such images are very far from "wow".

Nor I wouldn't have posted it under "Photography Technique" (!)

“Wow” was the expression of amazement I felt viewing these images, and reading the story they told. As a Vietnam-era Veteran I know the selfless focus and dedication soldiers, particularly in combat-specific assignments, bring to their work. My reaction is NOT about politics, nor about philosophical considerations on the nature of war, or empire, or conquest. Neither is it about whether the soldier agrees with the combat or not; in my own experience – personally, and as expressed by those I served with, it’s about fulfilling the role they’ve been trained for in as exemplary a manner as possible. While we didn’t really think about it much if at all, being young buckaroos, training exercises Stateside included real danger from live munitions, mistakes, and simple anomaly. That these photos captured these Ultimate instants in time lent all that much more Drama to the observation for me.
So far as my choice of where to post it is concerned, I couldn’t figure out any other topic to place it under, and, it just seemed to me that it should appear somewhere in CR. I would be very excited – and gratified, to know your suggestion for the correct topic for its posting.
Thanks, again….

Upvote 0
chauncey said:
If ya liked that image, why not visit the local morgue.

Thanks for your comment, Chauncey: in Fact, I worked for a major metropolitan morgue for 23 years, saw all manner of deaths, many senseless, many natural, some that made news headlines, many that remained shadowed in obscurity, and dealt with people in various stages of grief.

Upvote 0

LDS

Sep 14, 2012
mdmphoto said: