ZEISS vs Nikon, a cute story - Canon comes into it......eventually

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

racgordon

Clearing out some old stuff, I came across a bunch of 8x10s I made in the late 80s when I worked in the Photo Retail trade. It reminded me clearly exactly why I left that particular career.

We had a customer who wanted a comparison set of shots done on a Contax RTSII wish Zeiss T* Glass and a Nikon F3 with specific Nikon Lenses.

My records show Zeiss 25/2.8, 35/2, 50/1.4, 85/1.4, 180/2.8 and Nikon 24/2 35/2 50/1.4 85/1.4 and 180/2.8 ED-IF (All AIS).

I did the B&W shots on Ilford PAN F processed in ID-11 and then made the 8x10 on Ilforbrome (I remember it being the last time I used a non RC Paper).

I also shot a roll of Kodachrome 25 and then sent these out and had Cibachromes made of them.

It was an insane job because there were about 100 8x10s of each lens (Edge, Center, Full Frame, wide open, one stop down, two stops, four stops).

I don't recall how much it cost the customer but the color lab work cost quite a few thousand and I remember thinking that even I could do better Cibachromes than the lab who did it.

What was interesting ( I felt ) that for all the big talk of various vendors and photographers I could not SEE a definitively better lens optic for optic.

I managed to (sneak) some Leica glass into the tests, and there I did see some difference wide open on about two lenses, mostly with better contrast. I also took a selection of second tier Nikon lenses (or rather older cheaper designs) and even then I can see (and my notes tell me, that the only real discernible difference was their wide open performance at the edge (and some minor barrel distortion issues with the 24/3.5).

Anyhow this project took about two weeks and the customer was quite happy to pay a huge amount of money. He explained to me that he was a plastic surgeon and time was money (never forgot that one).