canon rumors FORUM

Gear Talk => PowerShot => Topic started by: EELinneman on October 09, 2012, 04:58:26 PM

Title: G15 and RAW files - grrrr
Post by: EELinneman on October 09, 2012, 04:58:26 PM
Well, Canon has dropped the ball.  You can shoot RAW with the G15, bring them into ImageBrowser EX, try to open them in DPP, but no go on any edits of any type.  It's a format that DPP sees as RAW but cannot display or edit.  Of course, Adobe isn't ready for these yet, and who knows when.  I've verified this on 2 windows boxes, mac to follow.

How can Canon sell a camera that you cannot work with the files?  Don't tell me to use the JPEGS, I would have just stuck with a crappy P&S.  The hope that f1.8 and the return of macro capability are what sold the camera to me. 

Grrr.  Actually, double grrr to you Canon.
Title: Re: G15 and RAW files - grrrr
Post by: neuroanatomist on October 09, 2012, 07:28:06 PM
Sorry if this is obvious, but just to confirm - did you install DPP from the disc that came with the camera?  Many just-released cameras ship with a version of DPP that's newer than the most recent downloadable version, and that newer version is required to handle the RAW files.  The fact that DPP is not listed as an available download on the Canon USA G-15 page suggests that you need the one from the included disc (that was the case with my S100).
Title: Re: G15 and RAW files - grrrr
Post by: verysimplejason on October 09, 2012, 10:58:47 PM
+1.  You need to install the latest DPP version as supplied or in the canon usa site.  Even LR have to release new versions for new cameras.
Title: Re: G15 and RAW files - grrrr
Post by: EELinneman on October 09, 2012, 11:26:01 PM
Sorry if this is obvious, but just to confirm - did you install DPP from the disc that came with the camera?  Many just-released cameras ship with a version of DPP that's newer than the most recent downloadable version, and that newer version is required to handle the RAW files.  The fact that DPP is not listed as an available download on the Canon USA G-15 page suggests that you need the one from the included disc (that was the case with my S100).

Yep, on 2 pc's and a mac all with the same effect.  Canon has released an update to Image Browser EX, but the latest DPP is now working with the raw files from this camera.  I've checked other Canon sites - UK, AUS, global for a newer version without luck.
Title: Re: G15 and RAW files - grrrr
Post by: neuroanatomist on October 09, 2012, 11:50:01 PM
Well, that just sucks.   >:(  Have you contacted Canon customer service?
Title: Re: G15 and RAW files - grrrr
Post by: EELinneman on October 13, 2012, 10:09:30 AM
Updates to DPP and EOS utilities are out.  They cover the G15
http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_rebel_t4i_18_135mm_is_stm_lens_kit#DriversAndSoftware (http://www.usa.canon.com/cusa/consumer/products/cameras/slr_cameras/eos_rebel_t4i_18_135mm_is_stm_lens_kit#DriversAndSoftware)