October 01, 2014, 02:43:24 PM

Author Topic: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake  (Read 3227 times)

3kramd5

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 440
    • View Profile
Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #30 on: April 10, 2014, 03:46:51 PM »
If you look here:

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/ISO-12233-Sample-Crops.aspx?Lens=108&Camera=453&Sample=0&FLI=0&API=6&LensComp=108&CameraComp=453&SampleComp=0&FLIComp=0&APIComp=4

it looks like this lens is sharpest around 5.6.  I wouldn't go above F8 unless you really needed the additional DOF.

Good Luck

My 135L is sharpest at F5.0 as per Focal Pro. Is your lens AFMA'd to the body?

For fun you could always try walking up the sync speed too -  it is a function of the camera max sync which was talked about earlier along with the trigger max sync. The worst thing that can happen is you will start to see the banding of the shutter creep into the shot - from there back it off a 1/3 of a stop or so.
I've never had any issues at 1/200s with the 5DIII, so that could help, too.

+1. I shoot my mk3 at 1/200 triggering wirelessly.

I agree with the misfocused theory. It doesn't look like motion blur, it looks like slight back focusing.
5D3, 5D2, 40D; Various lenses

canon rumors FORUM

Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #30 on: April 10, 2014, 03:46:51 PM »

Halfrack

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 472
    • View Profile
Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #31 on: April 10, 2014, 04:14:53 PM »
The fun of studio lights at other people's studios.  Chances are that the old strobes are the issue - what modifiers were you using?  What triggers were you using?  Shooting at full power will help, but you may find inconsistency with it (color temp, etc).  How long were you pausing between shots?

The Elinchrom setup should be much better.  Start by doing what you did in the previous studio, then hit our suggestions for techniques to improve things.
"Me owning a lens shop is kind of like having an alcoholic bar tender." - Roger Cicala

brett b

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #32 on: April 10, 2014, 09:51:15 PM »
So here is the picture of the eye. I think your right, its just slightly missed focus? What do you think? A bit of sharpening and it would probably be saved!
Even at 100% I can't tell for sure, but I'm still thinking it's a slight mis-focus because I don't see any direction to the blur.

Yeah they where monolights. Not a big name brand, can't remember what they where.

So what is the solutions? Use a tripod and try to have a modelling light for focus if ambient is poor?

I have never noticed this problem with my flashes, but should i be careful with my flash and 135L handheld?

Craig
A tripod will ensure you're not introducing your own motion but may limit your creativity if you like to move around while you shoot (it's a personal style thing).  I typically use a tripod for most work, especially head shots, but sometimes you want to move around if they model is moving around.  A tripod will also help you keep from moving closer or further away after locking focus and is the only way you can be assured of the sharpest possible shot at that focal length, at least without IS.  Using the center point and one-shot AF will help lock better focus (make sure it locks, too).

I agree with mackguyver...It's probably a focus issue due to moving after focus lock. This happens to me, too. I also like to move around while shooting headshots and I'm certain I occasionally move after focus lock.

I use the 135L and the 85LII at narrower depths of field than what you've stated, so I can't imagine it is a lens issue.

privatebydesign

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2460
  • Ermintrude says "moo"
    • View Profile
Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #33 on: April 10, 2014, 10:42:20 PM »
It is not miss focus, it is motion blur. What was the ambient and what is lighting the background?

How can I be so sure it is motion blur? Put the crop in PS and Smart Sharpen, change Gaussian Blur to Motion Blur and rotate the dial. If it was miss focus the sharpness would be consistent wherever you put the dial, if it is motion blur there are positions that make more difference than others, this image changes as the dial setting does so it is motion blur.
The best time to plant a tree is twenty-five years ago. The second best time is today.

RustyTheGeek

  • Buy and Sell
  • 1D Mark IV
  • ********
  • Posts: 905
    • View Profile
    • Images I've Shot...
Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #34 on: April 10, 2014, 10:49:28 PM »
Reading through this thread is why I like Canon Rumors.  Good feedback, good knowledge and some good ideas!   8)
Yes, but what would  surapon  say ??  :D

RLPhoto

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3466
  • Gear doesn't matter, Just a Matter of Convenience.
    • View Profile
    • My Portfolio
Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #35 on: April 10, 2014, 11:00:18 PM »
It looks like camera shake. It could be that your mixing too much ambient w/flash. My ancient m500 Novatron's at full power had a duration of 1/300th and any decent strobe should stop camera shake. (provided you cut the ambient.)

canon rumors FORUM

Re: First time in a studio, please help me learn from my mistake
« Reply #35 on: April 10, 2014, 11:00:18 PM »