Shutter count 1DX2

Hello Guys

I have owned my 1dx2 since july 2016, and recently had it serviced and also the PCB x 2 replaced at CPS here in Australia, i decided tonight to check the Shutter count, now im no pro - photog, i use it maybe once a week and during the winter months i shoot the junior league and surf shoots when its good theroiught out the year, usually around 130 frames each weekend , thinkig over the last 3 years id have around 60K or less shutter count, it tells me im sitting at 278714 , ive done the maths and on average that'd be approx 7,742 frames a month, im sorry but being a builder as a job and only using this camera 2 days a week if that im a little bit stunned at the shutter count, so could it be a camera fault perhaps ?

Cheers Darren

pwp

Oct 25, 2010
Darren if you're shooting as modestly as you say, 130 frames every weekend, that shutter count does sound high. However, any sporting event I shoot would typically be a few thousand frames, most sports shooters would report similar usage. Are you sure you've got your numbers right? In any case, 1 Series bodies can take as much as you're likely to throw at them. My 1DX is performing like new at over 600K frames. Previous 1D Mk4, 1D MkIIn and an original 1Ds all clocked close to a million before being traded.

-pw

Upvote 0
Darren if you're shooting as modestly as you say, 130 frames every weekend, that shutter count does sound high. However, any sporting event I shoot would typically be a few thousand frames, most sports shooters would report similar usage. Are you sure you've got your numbers right? In any case, 1 Series bodies can take as much as you're likely to throw at them. My 1DX is performing like new at over 600K frames. Previous 1D Mk4, 1D MkIIn and an original 1Ds all clocked close to a million before being traded.

-pw

Hey Bud,