Canon 40D Shutter button **FAILURE**

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomscott

Photographer & Graphic Designer
Hi CR,

Im new to CR and love the site and forums. Keep up the good work.

So to my First post, my trusty Canon 40D has just effectively died. It has the dreaded Sticking Shutter Button, the grip button doesn't have any problems, it would seem from a quick google that all the XXXXD, XXXD and XXD suffer from this illness.

The diagnosis is confirmed by the button pressing half way to focus, focusing successfully and when the button is completely depressed the shutter does not go off. This is not a problem with the AF and it having problems with the exposure therefore not firing, it is a mechanical problem where the button gets dirt etc into the shutter button contacts.

Until it happened to mine i had no idea about the problem but it has been a problem since the 10D and canon has done nothing about it. There are a few remedies... Press the button in hard and twist to help remove dirt... if that doesn't work... Send it to Canon and have it repaired which is £150, this sounds steep but from people who have had it done, thier cameras came back immaculate. With Replacement panels, LCD's, updates, complete cleaning, and with adjustments to make your body the same as it was. But... and a big but is do you want to spend a third of the value of the camera on a repair, or buy a new body? the 40D is a great camera but she is getting on abit...