Cheap manual flash to use for fill lighting...

jdramirez said:
It actually sounds like my 622c might be miscommunicating with the 580 and rather than communicating via ETTL, it is simply telling the 580 to flash at full. Which is why I was going to the high speed sync. Hmm. Come to think of it, I wasn't able to access the on camera flash control when I was having these over exposure issues. So maybe I go back to the drawing board and see if I can get the right setting so I CAN shoot at 1/200th of a second and then maybe I will go ahead and get a reflector to soften some of the shadows. Ugh. I'm a straight A student that is getting a C in this course on flash... it is frustrating.

What shooting mode (camera) were you using?

The flash firing at full power shouldn't send you into high speed sync; and if you were manually bumping up the shutter speed because the flash was too powerful then remember that shutter speed doesn't really have any affect on flash below sync speed. Regardless of what the issue is, you should have to be dealing with HSS in the situation you describe.

My 622 did the same thing when I first pulled it out of the box. I'm not sure what I was doing wrong, but I played with it for awhile until I got it to fire properly with eTTL. I'm not too good with the 622 as I usually just use my manual 602s. Which, I highly recommend that you switch over to full manual, camera and flash, for these photos. Your infant is the perfect test subject for that. If you only have one flash then you can start with ambient and mix in your flash. Or pick up a cheap second flash and start playing around with studio lighting. Seriously, and infant child is about as good a test subject as you're going to get (other than yourself), so long as the flashes doesn't disturb him/her. Just make sure to use modifiers, no bare flash.

Upvote 0
May 31, 2011