Question About Video

I've never done DSLR video before - I have a 70D and a Panasonic SD-60 camcorder.
If I were to start doing some video on my 70D when I download do the pictures automatically go to My Pictures and the video automatically go to My Videos?
Since I'm obviously clueless - any other words of wisdom about video? I'm pretty good with camera operation, etc. for stills, but have never even considered my DSLR for video; until now (for no particular reason).
Thanks.

The old version of EOS Utility used to allow you to set it up like that. You would attach the camera and videos would go to whichever folder you told them to and pictures to another folder if you wanted. It was wonderful.

However, some not so bright spark at Canon (or wherever) decided to change that. In the new EOS Utility both pictures and video get put into whichever folder you have told the camera to send them to (in preferences). I have not found a way to get it to automatically send video to one folder and pictures to another like you used to.

I forget the version numbers, but I know that the change with the newer version was one thing that really annoyed me (and still does frankly).

Upvote 0
Mar 21, 2013
Cory said:
I've never done DSLR video before - I have a 70D and a Panasonic SD-60 camcorder.
If I were to start doing some video on my 70D when I download do the pictures automatically go to My Pictures and the video automatically go to My Videos?
Since I'm obviously clueless - any other words of wisdom about video? I'm pretty good with camera operation, etc. for stills, but have never even considered my DSLR for video; until now (for no particular reason).
Thanks.

Words of wisdom. Hmmm....
DSLR video is not like Camcorder video.
Better image quality comes out of your DSLR, but... there is a big but... "I like big butts and I cannot lie"
It comes in short bursts of 12 min. or so...