SD card refresher for 5D3

ahsanford

Particular Member
Aug 16, 2012
Gang,

I shoot a 5D3 exclusively with SD for convenience sake. My home Mac and work comp both have an SD reader onboard, and when I'm traveling around/with family they tend to have the same thing going on.

I'm not a big Black Friday type, but there are some deals I'm seeing on SD cards and I think I'll get it on one as one of my cards' outer shells is cracked and may die before too long.

Just curious, so I don't accidentally get some ancient SD technology that will limit my 5D3 functionality or future overkill SD technology that my 5D3 can't use to the fullest, please remind of what I should / shouldn't be looking for an SD card.

If it helps:

• I'm not a pro and I don't need some bombproof thing made out of unobtanium.

• I have shot video on on my 5D3 all of three times in five years. I don't really care if I need to go to a less demanding video spec because the card can't cut the 1080P recording.

• I do, however, dabble with 6 fps burst shooting. It's not often, but when I need it, I'd like it to be there. I don't need a huge buffer where I'm leaning on the shutter button for 4-5 seconds, but I'd like the full 6 fps. (I seem to recall reading at TDP that 6 fps is card independent and the speed of the card drives buffer fill timing instead, is that accurate?)
Given all that, what SD specs are ideal for a 5D3 again?

Thx.

- A

LDS

Sep 14, 2012
ahsanford said:
Just curious, so I don't accidentally get some ancient SD technology that will limit my 5D3 functionality or future overkill SD technology that my 5D3 can't use to the fullest, please remind of what I should / shouldn't be looking for an SD card.

It's the 5D3 to use some ancient technology, since it doesn't support UHS. AFAIK a "Class 10" speed is the best it can support.
IIRC it's also OK for HD recording.