Here is the Canon Cinema EOS C70, to be announced this week.

It looks like they tried to copy Blackmagic's first production camera. Ugly. Does it have a viewfinder?
That's my question too. I'm still working with my c100MKii and could do with a resolution upgrade, but my most beloved feature of the Eos cinema line is strangely the viewfinder and form factor. Shooting handheld, with your eye up to the adjustable angle, large, clear viewfinder just works so well for handheld work and has been the main delight of the c100mkii for me. I'm really hoping that this c70 allows for the use of the bolt on viewfinder unit similar to the c300mkiii. Very exciting!

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0
Yeah mate, that is exactly why Canon implemented superior electronic IS in it's cinema line.
The "No IBIS" sentiment is pure ego. These same people cried "I don't need no autofocus, I'm a pro. Only amateurs use AF."
And of course, AF is now considered a core and necessary feature of every camera, including video and cinema.
Apparently the ego can get so big that it can't figure out how to turn off IBIS, so it can pretend to be better than everything and everyone.

• Love
  • Haha
Reactions: 4 users
Upvote 0
Isnt lens based stabilization far superior to IBIS... I dont see an issue because the RF lenses have it. What am I missing?
Lens IS cannot correct for roll, and the combination of lens and sensor IS gives 5 dimensional IS and much greater stability than either one alone. Canon claims 8 stops on the R5 when both are used with the new RF lenses.

Upvote 0
I’m telling you, this camera is going to be a massive home-run if, and only if, it doesn’t use H.265 as it’s main codec. I know the R5 does, but the C300 Mark III uses the wonderful, broadcast friendly, easily editable codec. Here’s hoping!!!