Two new RF L mount lenses rumored for 2021 [CR1]

docsmith

CR Pro
Sep 17, 2010
ha ha that's an 8inch big telescope! :D (although this has 200mm real glass diameter and its materials increase this) but still 20cm (OK 22cm) is almost the length of the 400mm DO II lens!!!!!
Ha....ok, that got me wondering, which lens length would be closest to 201 mm.....I did not have to look far, the 70-200 f/2.8 III is 199 mm.

But, that seemed off to me as I own the 500 f/4 II, so I just started playing with it and the dimensions I am quoting from TDP seem to correspond more to the lens hood than the actual front element. I measured my front element to be ~5.8" or 148 mm. TDP lists it at 170 mm or 6.7". That is about what I get for the lens hood to the actual knob on the hood or from the barrel to the bottom of the foot.

But, yeah, this is a big lens. But, honestly, what will keep me from buying one will be the price point.

Upvote 0

SecureGSM

2 x 5D IV
Feb 26, 2017
I really hope the lens is a 500 mm f4. I would buy it on the release date. A 500 mm f2.8 would be huge and too big.
I really hope this lens is 400mm F2.2 instead. :) Would have a similarly sized front element at around 178mm. But... that’s 2/3 of a stop faster than F2.8. Probably would be weighting similar to the 400/2.8 IS II L. I would be seriously tempted... :cool:

Upvote 0

Michael Clark

Now we see through a glass, darkly...
Apr 5, 2016
There is no reason Canon can’t make both a 500 f2.8 and a 250 f2, they are similar statement lenses to the early EF lenses like the 200 f1.8 and the 50 f1.0 and the 1,200mm f5.6 and would make a lot of sense if launched with a 1 series R body.