It looks like 2021 will be the last year for the EOS M lineup [CR2]

Sep 20, 2020
Third party companies like Sigma often enter niches that they think won't be served by OEMs. Sigma producing those lenses is hardly proof that it makes sense for Canon.
Canon sells far more lenses than they sell cameras.
If Sigma were to sell a lot of lenses then Canon would at least consider it.
On the other hand, more competition might discourage Canon from developing new lens models.

Upvote 0
You left out the price of the speed booster which only adds to the point you are making.
The point for me staying with Aps-C is cheaper overall setup. Especially because the FF lenses make the transition so expensive (to replace my current 3 lenses). If I had the 16-35 F4 I wouldn't use a speedbooster and just buy a R6. However as my main sharing platform is socal media and I'm a hobbyist the whole FF seems overkill.

Beside APS C being cheaper I don't need the FF benefits. It can actually backfire me I think. As I don't need smaller dof than my current aps c f1.8 and 2.8 glass. I shoot a lot of aquarium stuff where it can be annoying to add more light. I assume with full frame to compensate for the DOF that I usually have with Aps-C. I will lose more rather than gain. Sure FF has less noise in higher iso, but I still think APS C has an advantage if you can't add more light (with more DOF? Correct me if I'm wrong though.

I really hope Canon is going to launch an aps c body with specs like the r6. Sooner the better I want to upgrade! Preferable with the RF mount as I have a lot more trust in that. Hopefully third party will also jump in to make aps c lenses in the future.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

ctk

Refurb EOS R Kit
Mar 25, 2020
If anything Sigma doing well is bad news. It shows how little interest Canon has. Good Sigma sales should have encouraged Canon to release OEM products. They didn't.