Canon officially announces the Canon EOS R3

JamesG25

EOS R3 (ordered), R5 , R and RP
Jul 31, 2021
I wonder how many are pre-ordering from B&H using their PayBoo card. This is my first time placing a large order since retailers have started collecting taxes from Florida purchasers. For me, with a $420 hit and a tight budget, B&H seemed to be the only option.
Yep… this time I bought from B&H with PayBoo. 1st body I have ever purchased from B&H. The sales tax back made it the only purchase option I consider.

Upvote 0

navastronia

R6 x2 (work) + 5D Classic (fun)
Aug 31, 2018
Overall, a very solid camera for high-speed low-light photography. For me the highlights are the following:

1) 1/64000 top shutter speed with electronic shutter
2) full 14 bit files with electronic shutter at 30 fps
3) electronic shutter at three speeds of continuous shooting of 3, 15, 30 fps
4) solid high ISO noise performance
5) Assignable Q menu
6) More flexible customization
7) built-in GPS
8) Weighs almost 1 lb lighter than the 1Dx Mk3 and about 200 gram lighter than a R5 with the vertical grip attached.
9) Better low-light AF than the 1Dx Mk3.

Thank you so much for this. Do we know of any compromises when using the electronic shutter instead of the mechanical shutter aside from skewed lines thanks to the sensor readout speed (in some instances)? Given e-shutter files are 14-bit, I don't know of any. There shouldn't be any EFCS bokeh issues, since EFCS isn't active in e-shutter mode . . . I think . . .

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I also like that it is full 14-bit files at 30 fps. No 12-bit BS!! Preorder through B&H at 6:00 am this morning :)
But 24mp BS! this camera just caught up to the A9II, except it has worse battery life. Wildlife photographers will continue to use the r5, the r3 is only good for sports shooters. Ok camera, but nothing ground-breaking (the eye AF tracking is not as revolutionary as eye AF)

Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 381342