70-200f4is vs 70-300L

I've used 70-300L for over a year. Great IQ indeed. Just a couple of things i don't like. It's a bit heavy on a mk3 for travel, compared to what i had previously (6d+70-200f4). Half kilogram is quite noticeable especially on a hike. I also prefer non extending design of the 70-200f4 IS. I also miss shooting at f4 at 200mm.

The only reason i sold my 70-200 was not because of the extra 100mm i would gain. It's because the AF was slow. It was slow since i purchased it but i never knew it's considered slow. I was a newbie and i didn't have other L lenses to compare with. Image quality was wonderful and AF, although not snappy, was tolerable.

Anyhow, i consider my previous copy of 70-200f4 to be faulty. I'm considering giving it a second try. My concern is whether it's a good idea to buy an outdated lens. I say outdated because the design is 10 years old. I don't foresee an updated version in the near future. The reason 70-300L being so good is because it's more modern. So in my head I'm thinking that it seems silly to dump a more modern lens for an older design lens.

Just curious if there are other owners of both these two lenses and how you arrive at your decision as to which one to keep.

Don Haines

Beware of cats with laser eyes!
Jun 4, 2012
Canada
sunnyVan said:
I've used 70-300L for over a year. Great IQ indeed. Just a couple of things i don't like. It's a bit heavy on a mk3 for travel, compared to what i had previously (6d+70-200f4). Half kilogram is quite noticeable especially on a hike. I also prefer non extending design of the 70-200f4 IS. I also miss shooting at f4 at 200mm.

The only reason i sold my 70-200 was not because of the extra 100mm i would gain. It's because the AF was slow. It was slow since i purchased it but i never knew it's considered slow. I was a newbie and i didn't have other L lenses to compare with. Image quality was wonderful and AF, although not snappy, was tolerable.