Anyone else delaying lens purchases until we know more about mirrorless plans?

ahsanford

Particular Member
Aug 16, 2012
RiceCanon said:
Is it just me or does anyone else find themselves delaying lens purchases until we know more about Canon's prosumer mirrorless plans and timeframes? I'm a serious amateur/hobbyist without the luxury of unlimited funds and will be very interested in moving to mirrorless if Canon offers a superb quality full frame mirrorless in the near future.

Interesting question. My instant gut answer was 'hell no', but then I thought about it a bit.

My answer is a 'qualified no' depending on your situation and what your goals with the new system are. Consider before anything else this assumption: all EF glass surely will work on FF mirrorless on day one (either natively or with an adaptor). That's a hammerlock certainty, IMHO.

However, there are some considerations that may affect your buying decisions:

[list type=decimal]
[*]If you are expressly getting into mirrorless to build a tiny rig+lens to carry around, you may want to wait if you are looking at a modestly quick wide or standard FL lens, e.g. a 35 f/2, a 28 2/8, a 50 f/1.8, etc. That's the sweet spot of where a thin mirrorless mount possibly offering it's own version of those lenses could lead to a very small aggregate size body + lens. If you bought the EF versions of those lenses, they still would work but the camera + lens would be ~ 1" bigger or so for the EF adaptor -- you may not care about that, but some folks do.