Do I need the 580?

Status
Not open for further replies.
First of all I'd like to say that I'm a hobbyist, not a professional photographer, and only recently did I get into flash photography. My current setup is 550D + 24-105L, but I'm getting one of the 5Ds (ii or iii) when the latter is available. I'm mostly shooting general "walkaround" photography with some lean towards press photography (e.g. political meetings and etc.). I also shoot at weddings, family reunions, that kind of thing. So now I need a flash since many of these events tend to happen indoors, and I'm currently deciding between 430 and 580.

From the looks of it I'll have only one flash for the time being (I'm not a studio photographer, more of an action one), and 580 seems to be easier to operate. On the other hand it's much heavier than the 430 and costs more. Do you experience this additional weight problem, and do you feel that the price difference is justified in this case?

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
I recently got a 430ex2, and because of the high value to price relation, I am extremely happy with it. It "just works" which I consider to be a very important thing :)

I did some research before the purchase and the only reasons for me to get the top-of-the-line model with the added premium $$$ would be fec bracketing and the possible external power supply for faster reload times on bounce flashes. The former selling argument for the 580 was the ability to control slave flashes - but I can do that with my 60D, too.

If you do tele action shots however, the stronger flash might be important - however, both flashes have the "high speed" setting.

Upvote 0