Effectiveness of IS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all
I am a newbie to forums in general, but after learning so much from communities like these, I know this is where help is at hand

I am looking to replace my walk around lens. I like the kit's range, more than the 18-200mm (I have one), but I would like better quality. So without going into optics and IQ (there is a lot of posts on this) of the step up alternatives, I need some OPINIONS on the effectiveness on IS (real world)

The Canon EF-S 17-55mm would have been the awnser, but it is out of the question expensive. So I am looking into 3rd party 2.8F's. Owning a Tokina 11-16, I love the build quality and colour, and naturally lean towards their 16-50mm option, but it has no IS.

The Canon kit for example is only 2/3rds of a stop slower at 3.5F (wide side) and 2 stops at tele. If IS is supposedly giving you 3-4 stops help, does no IS F2.8 give you a real advantage over F3.5-F5 with IS.

(I know about the Sigma and Tamron options, but this post is to understand the real world effect of IS)

Thanks in advance for the insights

Admin US West

CR Pro
Nov 30, 2010
The real world effect of IS

1. With focal lengths below 100mm equivalent: If you do not or cannot take the time to use a tripod, or you cannot set a high shutter speed, there will be a noticable benefit. Most new photographers benefit greatly from it, once they become experienced, they can make do without it.

2. For longer telephoto shots where a stable tripod is not available, and there is not enough light to set a high shutter speed, it makes for a much sharper image.

Photographers made do without IS for many years, so look at it as a tool to make things easier and faster, but you can work without it. I use a 135mmL just fine without IS as long as I keep a 1/150 preferably faster shutter speed. At 400mm, either a tripod, fast shutter speed, or IS is necessary.

Upvote 0
Jan 5, 2011