Help with photographing a painting

knight427

CR Pro
Aug 27, 2018
A fried had asked me to photograph and old painting for sentimental reasons. Her mom passed away and more than one of the children desire to hang it in their own home.

I’m an amateur and would like to do a good job, but this doesn’t need to be museum quality work. I have an R6 and am wondering which lens/focal length would give me the least distortion.

EF Tamron 15-30 f/2.8
RF 24-70 f/2.8
RF 50 1.8
RF 70-200 f/2.8

Also, since my sensor is only 20mp I’m considering shooting as a pano to stitch in LR to gain resolution. I don’t know the exact size but have attached a photo below for reference.

Im also looking for tips on setup. I have two small LED light panels with color temp control, or might just do it outside on a cloudy day.
Resized_20231025_094526.jpeg

AUGS

CR Pro
Feb 13, 2012
Sydney, Australia
Hi @knight427 ,

I did something almost identical to this a while ago for an artist friend. She wanted a color correct electronic copy, she uses very vibrant colors and wanted these reflected in the images.

This was my setup - sorry, no photos.
  • A constant light source at a distance on either side of the artwork. This helped reduce any highlights that may have been picked up on a glossy surface edge - her artwork was an oil based painting, so had some texture.
  • Setup the artwork to be perfectly square and in plane to the camera.
  • Camera in portrait mode to get the maximum resolution. I used my 5DsR and EF100 f2.8 macro at f11. This allows for any slight "out of plane" corners to still be sharp. For your use, maybe the RF70-200 would be best, but try the 24-70 as well.
  • Setup the image to include the frame and a small amount around the outside for stitching, and allowance to crop back later.