HDR vs ML Dual ISO

I went on a trip yesterday and the scenery was amazing, being in a valley/canyon there was a big difference in light between the shadows and the bright sky, so thought maybe i can see which is better HDR or Dual ISO, below are two shots, one with each technique, both are taken with the 14mm f/2.8 Rokinon, the first is the dual ISO @ 100 and 1600 ISO, the second is the HDR made with 11 frames all at ISO 100, i am not very good at processing yet so it may have effected the result.

Attachments

• 20141212-IMGL5768-dualiso.jpg
    20141212-IMGL5768-dualiso.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 321
  • 20141212-IMGL5769_HDR-2.jpg
    20141212-IMGL5769_HDR-2.jpg
    690.5 KB · Views: 308

Valvebounce

CR Pro
Apr 3, 2013
Isle of Wight
Hi Folks.
I think both have their merit, the best test would be to show us the best of the single ISO shots for a viable comparison of the improvement both techniques brought to the shot.
I'm sure the multi frame low ISO HDR is great when things are still and you have time to set up. I'm equally sure that the ML dual ISO is fantastic for the just take the shot or miss it completely scenario. Horses for courses! ;D
Thanks for the direct comparison.

Cheers, Graham.

Upvote 0
Valvebounce said:
Hi Folks.
I think both have their merit, the best test would be to show us the best of the single ISO shots for a viable comparison of the improvement both techniques brought to the shot.
I'm sure the multi frame low ISO HDR is great when things are still and you have time to set up. I'm equally sure that the ML dual ISO is fantastic for the just take the shot or miss it completely scenario. Horses for courses! ;D
Thanks for the direct comparison.

Cheers, Graham.

I agree completely, i only made the comparison to know/show the limits of dual ISO compared to HDR, and to see if it solves the issue of Canon sensors.

Here are two shots from the 11 that made the HDR, both are on the darker side of course to show the sky.

Attachments