The Canon announcements will be sometime around 3:00 AM Eastern Time on September 5, 2018

Canon Rumors Guy

EOS 1D MK II
Jul 20, 2010
7,692
343
Canada
www.canonrumors.com
*Updated: We’re now told that the announcement will happen sometime between 3:00 AM ET and 4:30 AM ET. Whenever it is, we’ll be up for it.
We’re told to expect the Canon EOS R announcement sometime between 3:00 AM  – 4:30 AM Eastern Time on September 5, 2018. This would be a midnight announcement for the folks on the west coast of North America.
We’re also told that the preorders for all Canon EOS R products will not begin until later NEXT week. We’re unsure if you’ll be able to preorder the EF-M 32mm f/1.4 STM, EF 400mm f/2.8L IS III and EF 600mm f/4L IS III tonight or not.
Probable announcement times around the globe:

Los Angeles, USA 12:00 – 1:30 AM
Toronto, Canada 3:00 – 4:30 AM
London, England 8:00 – 9:30 AM
New Delhi, India 12:30 – 2:00 PM
Hong Kong 3:00 – 4:30 PM
Sydney, Australia 5:00 – 6:30 PM

As with everything related to the Canon EOS R, not even the announcement timing is normal. So expect to be up late if you’re on this side of the pond and hope...
Continue reading...
 
Last edited:

1Zach1

EOS T7i
Dec 3, 2013
70
54
I’ll take a guess and say the announcement thread here will be 40+ pages by 6am eastern when I take the time to log on. Should be an interesting day tomorrow.
 

miketcool

EOS 80D
Jun 29, 2017
104
165
I hope the keynote presentation is given by a guy in a black mock turtleneck. Seriously excited to order this camera and add it to my workflow!
 

Hector1970

EOS 6D MK II
Mar 22, 2012
1,086
260
I guess it ruins announcements as we've had all the details already.
I'd love to have been excited about it and get it but I'll give it a pass.
Here's hoping the next one is more suitable to my needs.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rubz and clicstudio

SV

EOS M50
Aug 24, 2017
27
19
I'll guess the announced price of the EOS R (body only) will be 2499 USD.
 

Aussie shooter

@brett.guy.photography
Dec 6, 2016
437
431
I think it will be interesting to get the final confirmation of what it will and will not have. Not that I am in the market as a wildlife photographer but I am keeping an eye on mirrorless to get a guage on when the technology will be capable to support my chosen felid of the art.
 

psolberg

EOS 7D MK II
Feb 8, 2012
619
17
not worth losing my sleep over it. I suspect if some of the omissions like dual cards, IBIS, in addition to the low fps with AF, the AA filter, the flange distance all check out, I already know the carnage I'll see. If there is anything new or surprises, I'll find out later anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jdavidse