Best strategy for processing MK lll RAW files ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
After years of shooting jpgs I want to shoot RAW with the new 5D MK lll. I'd also like to beging using the Xrite Passport for batch color correction. I believe it requires conversion to DNG files. This is all new to me so I would appreciate advice on the best current way to process RAW from the new camera. I'm also about to switch to Mac after years of using PC computers.

I'm a pro, learning to use a new camera, new file format and new computer all at the same time.

Thanks

D

dericcainphoto

I love Lightroom! I use Lightroom 4, which is cheap, compared to what it will handle. I am primarily a wedding photographer and I shoot, on average, 1,500+ RAW photos per wedding. Lightroom, not only, handles the RAW processing, but also helps in managing my files. It is so powerful that I do not use Photoshop unless I have some major editing to do. It works hand-in-hand with the X-rite Passport, too. I use one of those as well and it saves time by allowing me to batch process multiple files, by using a custom profile. I hope this helps!

Upvote 0
dericcainphoto said:
I love Lightroom! I use Lightroom 4, which is cheap, compared to what it will handle.

+1 I loathe PP and it was something that for a few years held me back from shooting RAW because I knew it would be required on some level. I know spend a fraction of the time editing photos in LR4 and I actually improve each picture. This has taken my photography up a level. It has also greatly improved my organizational method and I can find older shots rather quickly.

Upvote 0