Film shot on a 5D Mark III and Glidecam in Italy

K

kickthegrind

Loving this combination!
I get asked often if I use a Jib with my shots. I'm a travel videographer that has to travel as light as possible in most situations. These 2 beasts keep on impressing me. Take a look at my most recent video? It was the first film I shot Flat, as well as the first where the Glidecam didn't leave the DSLR. Tell me what you think :) :)

South Italy - The Strength of Tradition

M

mischman

Just amazing! I too shoot with a 5D Mark III, but just as a hobbyist (kids, travel, kids sports, etc.). I am using the 24-70L 2.8 and 70-200L 2.8. I am open to additional lenses. As I am not making a living shooting, but willing to spend a bit more for great equipment, what type of handheld system could you recommend for video? Also, is there a basic setup, such as a focus mechanism, off-camera monitor, etc. that you would suggest? Last, how about a video light?

Your video is just amazing. I love the music! I definitely invokes emotion. Beautiful work!

Jeff Misch

Upvote 0
K

kickthegrind

Thanks All! It was shot on a Glidecam HD 2000 with a EF 16-35mm f/2.8. I was at ~20mm when gliding.
On this trip I also had a EF 24-70mm f/2.8 Mk1, but you can't glide with that... the lens extends in wide angle. Release plate is at home right now.. but I believe it's a 501PL by Manfrotto.

I don't use any external monitors or supplemental lighting on these trips. I'm too mobile, and quite often a shot opportunity comes and goes and I barely have enough time to capture it. I do glide with a RODE videomic PRO sometimes though, and have also done the same with a sennheiser G3 Evolution lav receiver.

privatebydesign said:
Hi kickthegrind,

I am only commenting because you asked for input and I wanted to take the time to give you my impressions.