The frog series is...

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
Last weekend I shot some frogs in a pond, setup was my trusty old 60d, a 100mm macro-cpl and a flash for fill on a bracket (to quickly switch from left to right). I was using Tv with max. x-sync of 1/250s and iso 800, the max. you can get away with on corp. The resulting Av was usually f6.5-f11-ish.

Since I'm planing to go there once more next weekend if the weather is ok, I'd like to ask you all for some feedback on what I can improve - framing, lighting, postprocessing, everything really since I'm still learning to do stuff. One thing I'm not entirely happy about is the double reflection from sun and flash, but this cannot be helped since I need the fill flash in noon light?

Note that these are live, happy and free frogs. Thanks for any feedback and helping out!

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
tolusina said:
You might be able to knock out one unwanted reflection with a polarizer.

I was using a polarizer (cpl) or it would have looked even more reflective (nearly blue-white). For most of the shots I had the polarizer on 1/2 setting - the problem with full cpl is that removes the water *entirely*, it looks like in an indoor aquarium and you don't see any reflections at all.

Upvote 0

Marsu42

Canon Pride.
Feb 7, 2012
Berlin
der-tierfotograf.de
tolusina said:
Seems I recall Ansel Adams sometimes polarized his lights, then knocked down reflections from those polarized lights with another polarizer on his lens.

This is really interesting, I'll try to research how this works - question is if it's possible with a circular polarizer in front of the lens or if only a non-cpl works which afaik would disable the af system. Of course I can also remove the 2nd reflection is post most of the time w/o anyone noticing, though I left it in for demonstration purposes this time.

Upvote 0