Gonna buy 1DX, but should I get a 5d mrk II in the meantime?

Status
Not open for further replies.
E

evargas

Like subject says I am gonna per-order the 1DX no matter what...

I currently work as a teacher at a private school (K-12) and I teach yearbook/photography and I am in charge of marketing and publications (and of course photography) for the school. The school has finally given me the go ahead to take over all of the fall portraits/ all other photography events (high school banquet, homecoming, etc.).

My class is currently working with 60D's and (I am using those also), but I feel like I need something a little bit more.

I currently am using the following lenses for different projects.

70-200mm f/2.8L IS II
100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS
100mm f/2.8L Macro IS

and we have 50mm primes

For most of my work the 70-200 hits the right spot, but I also would like to get the following lenses soon.

16-35mm f/2.8L II
24-70mm f/2.8L (I really want the II version but we all know how that's moving)
85mm f/1.2L II

So what should I do... Buy the 5d mrk II or buy a lens or 2 and wait for my 1dx (I am really impatient either way)

pwp

Oct 25, 2010
evargas said:

My class is currently working with 60D's and (I am using those also), but I feel like I need something a little bit more.

So what should I do... Buy the 5d mk II or buy a lens or 2 and wait for my 1dx (I am really impatient either way)

It sounds like you've got a good strong budget. Provided you've got a pre-order in place, it really isn't that long until the 1DX ships. The 60D you're working with right now is definitely no slouch, and there will be dividends for your students if you are ultra familiar with the same camera that they are using....the 60D.

I'd wait, and drop the spare cash on the two short zooms in the meantime.

Paul Wright

Upvote 0
K

katwil

pwp said:
evargas said:

So what should I do... Buy the 5d mk II or buy a lens or 2 and wait for my 1dx (I am really impatient either way)