How to turn OFF d@mned Apple Photos from opening every time CF card inserted...?

cayenne

CR Pro
Mar 28, 2012
Hi all!!

Ok, I do all my photo and video work on my mac. I'm on Yosemite right now.

I'm a tech guy by actual trade, but for the life of me, I cannot ferret out how to turn this annoying behavior OFF!!!

Every time I plug my CF or SD card from my Canon 5D3....Apple Photos immediate opens up with the images in it. I have to close it down...and then go about my way opening and importing with LR, etc.

The suggestions I've seen to stop this, say to uncheck the box saying "Open photos for this device"....which I do religiously.
However, for some reason, the mac doesn't seem to remember this next time that CF card is inserted?!?!?!

I'm guessing that since I format my cards in camera before each unload and new use, whatever markers are there disappear and Photos opens it yet again upon insertion.

Has anyone found a remedy for this VERY ANNOYING behavior? Lordy, I had when they default computers to autoplaying anything....grrrrrrr.

TIA,

cayenne

Jul 21, 2010
The way cards are recognized by the MacOS is not what I'd call consistent. I have a 17" MBP with an ExpressCard/34 slot, and I have both a CF and an SD reader for that port. Mounting a CF card does not cause Photos to open, and the card shows up on the desktop as an orange 'removable drive' icon (just like my LaCie Rugged 1 TB backup drives). Mounting the same CF card using a FW800 CF reader launches Photos and it mounts as a white 'fixed drive' icon (like a typical thumb/flash drive). Mounting an SD card through the ExpressCard/34 port (different reader than for CF cards) opens Photos and it mounts as a white drive icon. So, there are flags set on cards for drive type, but how you connect the card also matters.