My first panorama - Tetons What did I do wrong?

So, this was from a trip I took this summer, I'm finally getting around to doing the panorama stitching. I used Photoshop CS6's autostitch tool to combine all the photos. I put my camera on a tripod, taking vertical photos using a 70-200mm F/4 lens. The water line sags pretty bad in the middle. Is that because of the way the camera pivoted on the tripod? I was very careful with the placement of the tripod, I'm pretty sure it was level all the way across. Maybe I didn't take enough photos to stitch smoothly (I don't think I had a whole lot of overlap between frames)? Or can I just "bend" it back up in photoshop? I'm pretty new to the tool, so I'm not sure what's possible or if I should even attempt it.

Tetons Panorama by yorgasor, on Flickr

I had problems with CS6 and my panoramas at first as well. Now, as long as I check "cyclindrical" instead of "auto" and "geometric correction" or whatever it says, they seem to turn out well. I have a tripod head that shoots off of the nodal point, but I rarely ever use it, and they typically turn out fine--better if I use a tripod and try to get the camera level than if I do it handheld.

Upvote 0
Hi there

Beautiful panorama. And nice result for an autostitching funtion.

And the good news: the problem is not in the pictures or in the technique of the pictures taken.

At that distance the nodal point is pretty much not an issue. (ever)
The overlapping looks just fine too.
The problem is the "auto" in the function you mentioned. :-\

The problem is the same as if you grap 3 cola botles by the neck. The bottom end will spread out. And that is what happend here. The pictures were autostitched in the upper middle and the lower end of the resulting immage got streched out.