Need air show advice- Wings over Houston

Hi all
I shall be attending the Wings over Houston airshow next Sunday. I shall be taking my 5DIII, 5Dc, 24-70II, 70-200II and both TCs. I wish I received the 7DII before that, but I doubt that will happen. In any case, gear is pretty much decided- I shall just take what I have. And I decided to take my monopod.
I would greatly appreciate any air show-related advice (or related to shooting aircrafts). I have seen some amazing threads in these forums, and I know there are a few experts and a lot who are good all round. It will be great to get some tips re shooting planes on the ground, in flight, solos and formations, tracking, pre focusing or not, shutter speeds for props, etc. I have zero experience.
If you have experience of going to Ellington and are willing to share, that will also be much appreciated.
Can't offer much in return except I will post all the reasonably acceptable pictures :)
Thanks in advance.

I used the 70-200 with 2xmkiii a couple years ago on crop so I had to focus manually which was a challenge on planes during a demo but still managed to get some keepers. Slower shutter speeds are good for prop blur. Looking at 1/125 for a good blur. Monopod will help. 24-70 will be good for static displays. I have shot jets, prop and formation at Airventure in Oshkosh. A lot of shooting air shows is trial and error and finding what settings you think look best. Demonstrations usually have enough passes that you can try some things out. They also don't usually start with the most interesting demo so you have time to get your settings dialed in before the main event.

Good luck

Upvote 0
Take:

• ID
  • Hat
  • Earplugs if there are jet demos. If there are Harriers or VTOL F-35s, consider ear defenders also (not instead)
  • Water
  • Food
  • Sunscreen if you burn easily - I faced my pasty face into the sun for an afternoon and burnt the half which wasn't behind the camera, boo.
  • Something to sit on