Opinion needed - Portrait post processing

Hi all,

I'm a beginner to photography and pretty much self-taught. I'm just starting to get into portraiture and I find it very difficult to just learn it on my own. Unlike landscape photography which I think is very subjective, I find portraiture to have more objective fundamentals that I can't learn from looking at the photos unless a trained eye points it out to me. So, I need your opinion on which post processing do you prefer and why? Any other pointers is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

post processing 1

Lin_20121124_0004.jpg by Christian Ronnel, on Flickr

post processing 2

Lin_20121124_0005.jpg by Christian Ronnel, on Flickr

post processing 3

Lin_20121124_0006.jpg by Christian Ronnel, on Flickr

I probably prefer #2 by a small margin, but that area in the lower left corner is blown out and very distracting. It's really where my eyes went first despite the very attractive model. I'm far from a trained eye only an amateur myself but probably your composition / light control needs more practice than the processing, which really looks reasonable across all 3 shots.

Upvote 0
I'm not sure what happened with my previous post, sometimes the links from the homepage to the forum sometimes get me a little confused or misdirected.

Regarding the post processing. i guess I like the warmer tones of the second and third images more than the first. Her skin looks really blotchy to me, although this blotchiness is pretty regular with 5DIII images. The pictures look overexposed to my eye and this is distracting. I might have cropped it a little more too as the bridge takes up quite a bit of the foreground and it isn't that interesting. I'm no pro, but I thought I would give my opinion since you asked.

Upvote 0