Perspective correction

I took this shot this morning and unhappy with how it turned out. I was shooting up a steep hill and no matter how I adjust the alignment it just looks wrong. Either the trees are leaning, the building leaning. Other than buying a TS-E lens, is there any way to make this shot look good?

I'm just learning long exposure photography. Any way to get the moon properly exposed without severely underexposing the rest of the scene? Any other suggestions for improvement are welcomed.

This was shot at 10 seconds, f/7.1, ISO 160, 28mm on 24-70 2.8 II lens on a 6D.

Attachments

• 2013_12_28_083104-4024.jpg
    2013_12_28_083104-4024.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 1,073
Jan 29, 2011
If by look good you mean correct the verticals, yes, it is very easy and results in remarkably little loss in quality, particularly for web based or small print output, for big prints it is not so good.

In PS, select all, free transform - distort, then pull the top two corners out and up, much better than perspective correction adjustments in LR or PS. This took fifteen seconds.

Attachments

• 5.jpg
    5.jpg
    237 KB · Views: 924
Upvote 0
Jan 29, 2011
The only way you will get the moon and the foreground correctly exposed is with two exposures, after all one is night, the other day. Shoot the scene with the optimal exposure for it, and the moon optimal for it, then put the moon from that shot into the other shot. If the exposures are much more than 5 stops apart then it can't be done effectively in one shot.

Upvote 0

rpt

Mar 7, 2012
India
privatebydesign said:
If by look good you mean correct the verticals, yes, it is very easy and results in remarkably little loss in quality, particularly for web based or small print output, for big prints it is not so good.

In PS, select all, free transform - distort, then pull the top two corners out and up, much better than perspective correction adjustments in LR or PS. This took fifteen seconds.
+1