Printing/sizing/online HELP!

Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Leopard Lupus

Hello there!
I posted last week, the topic of printing. I decided to go over to Mpix.com and order a few prints.
When I uploaded the images I wanted printed, they offered some sizes and not others, so I chose a size I thought would be best.
I received them in the mail today, with an issue. The IQ was not even close to what it is on my computer, and more importantly the images were not scaled to fit. A large portion of almost every photo is chopped off the bottom, including a square photo which was blown up and cut in half. Did I miss something while ordering?

Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to printing, and would really like to avoid a $20 mishap again.

H

handsomerob

Check the aspect ratio of your photos (after cropping) and see if they match the ratio of the ordered size.
If you crop without locking the aspect ratio, or if you choose a non 3:2 print, they won't match, that's why your photos might have been chopped.

For instance, you had to choose a square print size for your square photo.

What about the brightness and colors? Are you looking at them on a calibrated screen?

Upvote 0

justsomedude

5Dm4, 5Dm4, 5Dm3, 6Dm1
Feb 20, 2011
Denver, CO
www.akphoto.com
Leopard Lupus said:
Hello there!
I posted last week, the topic of printing. I decided to go over to Mpix.com and order a few prints.
When I uploaded the images I wanted printed, they offered some sizes and not others, so I chose a size I thought would be best.
I received them in the mail today, with an issue. The IQ was not even close to what it is on my computer, and more importantly the images were not scaled to fit. A large portion of almost every photo is chopped off the bottom, including a square photo which was blown up and cut in half. Did I miss something while ordering?

Any help would be appreciated. I'm new to printing, and would really like to avoid a $20 mishap again.

Leopard,