RF L-Series super zoom??? (28-300, 24-240 or?)

AutoMatters

EOS R3
Dec 3, 2021
I am a press photographer with over 20 years experience. About a year ago I switched from Nikon F-Mount professional, full frame DSLRs to the Canon RF R3 (mirrorless, full frame).
Just like other press photographers, I need a reliable, rugged, weather-sealed, L-Series lens with a wide zoom range (28-300mm, 24-240mm or?) and a manual focus switch for my photojournalism. Will Canon EVER make such a lens?
Currently I use the Canon consumer-grade 24-240mm NON-L-Series lens (NOT weather-sealed, not heavy duty and NO MANUAL FOCUS SWITCH).with my Canon R-3 bodies. This lens is a compromise. I will not buy an obsolete, expensive EF 28-300mm lens that was designed way, way back in 2004, plus an EF-RF adapter.

Apr 25, 2011
There exist some patents for such lenses:

However, it's hard to tell whether (and when) any of these lenses appear.

Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

AutoMatters

EOS R3
Dec 3, 2021
There exist some patents for such lenses:

However, it's hard to tell whether (and when) any of these lenses appear.
Kit,
Thank you ! I really like the thought of an RF 24-300mm f/4-5.6 L-SERIES superzoom lens. It is wider than the EF 28-300mm and still zooms out as far, which makes it better. I wonder if Canon will bring it to market? I'd order one for sure!
Jan

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
Not many PJs anymore. I doubt Canon will launch an L-series RF superzoom, but I’d be pleasantly surprised if they did. I would expect it to be F/6.3 or F/7.1 on the long end.

If Canon does ever release such a lens, I’m not sure if I’d buy one. I owned the EF 28-300L, but ultimately sold it in favor of using the 24-70/2.8L II and 70-300L combo. An RF L superzoom with IQ on par with the RF 24-105L and the size of the 100-500L or smaller would be tempting (but not so tempting that I would pre-order it).

Upvote 0

AutoMatters

EOS R3
Dec 3, 2021