technique advice for a 600mm II

luckydude

1dxII, 5DIII, 7DII, lots of glass, tolerant wife
Aug 3, 2013
Hi folks,

newbie here with more money than brains (or technique). I recently was gifted with 600mm II and a 1.4x III (and a 2x III, almost forgot that one).

I did "OK" on a moon pic: http://www.mcvoy.com/lm/moon.jpg

but I'm having trouble learning how to use this beast on other stuff. I'm coming from a 400mm f4 DO + the 1.4x II.

I'll start by saying this 600mm out resolves the 400mm by quite a bit, even with the 1.4x on it.

That said, holding this sucker is a bitch even as "light" as it is for a 600mm (and it is light, you can hand hold it, just not for more than about a minute. At least I can't).

Does everyone who owns a lens like this use a tripod?

On the tripod I got crap results unless I did live view (which locks up the shutter, still have to figure out how to do that w/o live view. I did say newbie, bokay, don't yell at me. Too much).

The moon pic is cropped, 5DIII + 600mm + 2x + tripod + live view + remote shutter release + IS on. Is that just what you do when you have a lens this big? I mean the live view remote shutter IS part.

I'm used to walking around and grabbing shots as they present themselves, the 400mm lets you do that, the 600mm is not so much. I did get some keepers just walking around but a much much lower rate than the 400mm.

I guess what I'm asking is what is the basics of using a 600mm and 600mm+1.4x. What settings do you use, do you always lock up the mirror, remote release, no IS or IS?

I'm new to this big bad boy and still not sure if it is for me, I love the sharpness and the reach, not yet comfortable with my sucky technique.

rpt

Mar 7, 2012
India
luckydude said:
Hi folks,

newbie here with more money than brains (or technique). I recently was gifted with 600mm II and a 1.4x III (and a 2x III, almost forgot that one).

I did "OK" on a moon pic: http://www.mcvoy.com/lm/moon.jpg
Nice one!